French PROD2 side Vannes attempted to a pull a fast against Angloueme in their clash on Friday evening with flyhalf Christopher Hilsenbeck lining up a penalty attempt.
Instead of going for the three points, the flyhalf sent the kick towards the touchline for one of his teammates who scored out wide.
Caught napping 😂pic.twitter.com/gu2VXwiVED— Ultimate Rugby (@ultimaterugby) December 11, 2019
Unfortunately for Hilsenbeck, the try did not stand and Angloueme were awarded a scrum.
Law 8.20 states 'If the team indicates to the referee the intention to kick at goal, they must kick at goal.'
Therefore, a player must make a genuine attempt at goal from penalty kick, if the player has not then the opposing team is awarded a scrum according to World Rugby's Laws.
Luckily for Vannes, the three points wouldn't be too costly as they managed to sneak past Angloueme winning the game 26-25.