Fiao'o Fa'amausilli rugby player
Fiao'o Fa'amausilli rugby player

Fiao'o Fa'amausilli

30th Sep 1980 1.63m/75kg Hooker

Regarded as one of the finest front rower's the game has seen and most successful Captains, Fiao’o Faamausili has fashioned a remarkable career since her first-class debut way back in 1999.

Her list of achievements is long and includes: four-time Women’s Rugby World Cup winner, Black Ferns skipper since 2012, all-time Black Ferns appearances record holder, New Zealand Rugby women’s player of the year in 2011, the first women to play 100 games for one province, and multiple provincial titles to her name with the Auckland Storm. Furthermore, in 2018 she was made an Officer of NZ Order of Merit (ONZM) for services to rugby.

Faamausili’s accurate lineout throwing combined with strong carries and a penchant for the tryline, not to mention her physical and mental toughness, make her a rugged opponent. She picked up a hattrick during the Black Ferns 31-11 victory against the Black Ferns in Sydney in 2018 to show she had lost none of her class in the twilight of her career.

The Manurewa police detective was originally looking to retire from international rugby after the 2017 season but decided to make herself available again for one last season in 2018.

She finished her final season as the Black Ferns leading try-scorer of the season with five tries and will go down as one of the all-time greats of women's rugby.

She has captained the Black Ferns from 2012 until her retirement and led the side again at the 2014 Women’s Rugby World Cup - her fourth World Cup campaign.

Fa’amausili has chalked up many awards including NZ women’s rugby player of the year, Auckland Storm Player of the year, Samoan sportswomen of the year and NZ Police Sportsperson of the year.

She was also named one of the New Zealand Rugby Almanack’s Player of the Year in 2016.

Fa'amausilli ended her stellar career with 57 test caps and 15 tries since making her test debut back in 2002 with Australia.

June 19


black-ferns-logo New Zealand Women
2014 - 2018