Allister Coetzee names Namibia squad for Rugby World Cup 2023

Allister Coetzee names Namibia squad for Rugby World Cup 2023

Former Springbok coach Allister Coetzee has named former Wallaby flank Richard Hardwick in the Namibia squad for this year’s Rugby World Cup.

Melbourne Rebels forward Hardwick was born in Windhoek, but raised in Australia and won two Wallaby caps in 2017.

He has since made three Test appearances for the Welwitschias who will be led in France by experienced centre, Johan Deysel.

Deysel and six other players will be appearing in their third tournaments, but loose forward PJ van Lill tops the lot having been selected for a fourth Rugby World Cup.

The 39-year-old will be only the second Namibian to achieve the feat after Eugene Jantjies having previously featured in the 2007, 2011, 2015 and 2019 tournaments.

In total, 15 of the 31 players selected by Coetzee have been to a Rugby World Cup before.

Former Namibia U20 scrumhalf Oela Blaauw is the only uncapped member of the squad.

Two additional forwards will be named in due course to bring the Welwitschias party up to its full complement of 33 players.


Forwards: Jason Benade, Aranos Coetzee, Desiderius Sethie, Louis van der Westhuizen, Torsten van Jaarsveld, , Casper Viviers, Tiaan de Klerk, Richard Hardwick, Adriaan Ludick, Johan Retief, Mahepisa Tjeriko, Tjiuee Uanivi, Max Katjijeko, Prince Gaoseb, PJ van Lill, Wian Conradie, Adriaan Booysen

Backs: Damian Stevens, Oela Blaauw, Jacques Theron, Cliven Loubser, Tiaan Swanepoel, Andre van der Berg, Johan Deysel, JC Greyling, Danco Burger, Le Roux Malan, Alcino Isaacs, Gerswin Mouton, Chad Plato, Divan Rossouw

Latest News