Bedford Blues name team for Friday Night Lights

Bedford Blues name team for Friday Night Lights

Mike Rayer has named his squad as Bedford Blues hunt a first victory of 2024 under the Friday Night Lights at Goldington Road as they entertain London Scottish (KO 7:45pm).

A fixture with over 90 years’ worth of history, the two sides averaged just shy of 60 points a game from their four meetings last season, and another cracker is anticipated at Goldington Road.

For the game, the Bedford Starting XV shows seven changes to the side from the trip to Doncaster Knights last weekend – split into three backs alterations and four in the forwards pack.

Matt Worley slots back in to his familiar full-back position, meaning Michael Le Bourgeois shifts inside to partner the returning Jordan Venter in the centre. Louis Grimoldby’s inclusion completes the changes in the backs division. 

Up front, there is a first start of the campaign for Ed Prowse, with Bryan O’Connor ruled out through the injury sustained up at Castle Park. Joey Conway is also brought into the front row.

The inclusions of Robin Williams and Kieran Curran bring about some positional alterations in the second and back rows as Rayer continues the theme of rotating his squad.

Jacob Fields is also on the treatment table alongside O’Connor.

Bedford Blues Starting XV: 15. Matt Worley, 14. Sean French, 13. Jordan Venter, 12. Michael Le Bourgeois, 11. Dean Adamson, 10. Louis Grimoldby, 9. Alex Day (C); 1. Joey Conway, 2. James Fish, 3. Ed Prowse, 4. Robin Williams, 5. Tom Lockett, 6. Luke Frost, 7. Kieran Curran, 8. Joe Howard

Bedford Blues Replacements: 16. Craig Wright, 17. Jamie Jack, 18. Oisin Heffernan, 19. Alex Woolford, 20. Cameron King, 21. Jac Arthur, 22. James Lennon, 23. Will Maisey

Latest News