Bryan Habana picks his Springbok team to face the British and Irish Lions

Bryan Habana picks his Springbok team to face the British and Irish Lions

Springbok legend Bryan Habana has picked his Springbok XV to face the British and Irish Lions. 

The World Cup winner in 2007 was asked by World Rugby's 'The Wrap' to select his XV to face the Lions. Habana featured against the British and Irish Lions in 2009 starting the two opening test matches scoring a try in the second. 

Habana noted that he didn't think that there would be 'too much deviation' from the side that won the Rugby World Cup in Japan in 2019. 

 Update to the latest version of the Ultimate Rugby app here 

He did, however, raise concerns over the fitness of some of the starters from the tournament with the likes of Lood de Jager, Eben Etzebeth, Handre Pollard and Pieter-Steph du Toit. 

'Both Lood de Jager as well as Eben Etzebeth are in a race against time to get ready and the kingpin - Handre Pollard - is also on a rehabilitation process along with the World Player of the Year in 2019, Pieter-Steph Du Toit' Habana said.

The test centurian for the Boks picked Steven Kitshoff and Frans Malherbe on either side of Bong Mbonambi but did add that note that Malcolm Marx 'is playing exceptional rugby in Japan. 

Having noted earlier that Etzebeth and de Jager are in a race to get fit for the Series, Habana selected RG Snyman and Franco Mostert in the second row.

Siya Kolisi captains Habana's team with Marcell Coetzee in the #7 jersey. 

'He had an absolutely phenomenal season again for Ulster, he is coming back to South African shores and going to the Bulls and will hopefully be ready in time.' - Habana said of Coetzee.

'Hardman' Duane Vermuelen completes Habana's pack with Faf de Klerk claiming the #9 jersey. With Handre Pollard sidelined, Habana has backed Damian Willemse at flyhalf saying that he 'is a guy who is really picking up some good form' before adding that the decision is driven by the fact that Handre Pollard is a bit of uncertainty in for the Series. 

Makazole Mapimpi and Cheslin Kolbe are picked on the wings with Damian de Allende and Lukhanyo Am in the centres. The former Springbok completes his team by selecting 'stalwart' Willie Le Roux at fullback while mentioning that Sharks' fullback Aphelele Fassi pushing the World Cup winner for his place.

  1.  Steven Kitshofff
  2.  Bongi Mbonambi
  3.  Frans Malherbe
  4.  RG Snyman
  5.  Franco Mostert
  6.  Siya Kolisi (c)
  7.  Marcell Coetzee
  8.  Duane Vermuelen
  9.  Faf de Klerk
  10.  Damian Willemse
  11.  Makazole Mapimpi
  12.  Damian de Allende
  13.  Lukhanyo Am
  14.  Cheslin Kolbe
  15.  Willie Le Roux 

 Update to the latest version of the Ultimate Rugby app here

Latest News