England Sevens squad named for Rugby World Cup Sevens

England Sevens squad named for Rugby World Cup Sevens

Head of England Sevens Simon Amor has named the 12 players who will represent their country at the Rugby World Cup Sevens in San Francisco on 20-22 July.
The squad includes ten bronze medallists from the recent Gold Coast Commonwealth Games and six players who represented Team GB at the Rio 2016 Olympics where they secured silver.

Tom Mitchell will captain the team in what will be his second Rugby World Cup Sevens after he and fellow teammates Mike Ellery, all-time leading try scorer Dan Norton and England Sevens’ most capped player James Rodwell reached the final in Moscow 2013.

England Sevens squad:

Phil Burgess
Alex Davis
Richard de Carpentier
Will Edwards
Mike Ellery
Harry Glover
Ollie Lindsay-Hague
Ruaridh McConnochie
Tom Mitchell ©
Will Muir
Dan Norton
James Rodwell

England, who are seeded fourth in the World Cup behind South Africa, Fiji and New Zealand will play their first game on Saturday 21 July at 4.09 am (BST) against the winner of Samoa v Uganda.

Latest News