Flashback: Waikato win their first NPC title in 1992

Flashback: Waikato win their first NPC title in 1992

Waikato and Otago face off in the Mitre 10 Cup Championship final today with the aim of claiming a place in the Premiership next season.

1992 saw the inclusion of playoffs with the winner of the competition, previously the NPC championships were determined on points.

The First Division was reduced from 11 teams to nine in 1992 meaning that all three divisions included nine teams.
To supplement the change, semi-finals and a final were introduced for the first time. After finishing the regular season in fourth place, Waikato shocked regular season leaders Auckland 27-21.
Waikato got even better in the final by defeating Otago 40-5 to lift the Rugby Cup for the first time - the team they will face today for a place in the Mitre 10 Cup Premiership next season.

The Waikato side of 1992 wasn't filled with All Blacks but was lead by current England assistant coach John Mitchell and had current All Blacks assistant coach Ian Foster and Wales head coach Warren Gatland in their ranks.

This side also beat Canada 28-14 in 1992. 

Follow the Final HERE

Latest News