Hurricanes ready to welcome the Blues

Hurricanes ready to welcome the Blues

After returning to winning ways against the NSW Waratahs, the Hurricanes turn their attention to a trip to Eden Park to take on the Blues, as week 12 of DHL Super Rugby Pacific hots up. 

Returning to Wellington following a tough result away against the Brumbies, the Hurricanes hit their straps early, eventually running away with a bonus-point 41-12 win against the men from NSW. 

Changes to the side see Xavier Numia, Caleb Delany, Brad Shields, TJ Perenara,  Kini Naholo, Jordie Barrett come back into the run-on fifteen. Kianu Kereru-Symes retains his starting spot at hooker, backed up by Raymond Tuputupu on the bench. 

Perenara, who’s 63rd try, took him to the top of the all-time list in Super Rugby, returns to the nine jersey for his 159th Hurricanes appearance. 

Upfront, the scrum, which has been performing well under the tutelage of Jamie Mackintosh will look to build off last week’s foundations against a very strong Blues forward pack. 

On the balance of the squad, Laidlaw said. “We’ve managed to strike a really good balance with our squad, we have a level of depth, which we’re really happy with and the competitiveness across the squad.” 

On the trip to Eden Park, Laidlaw affirmed, “This is an exciting opportunity for us to be able to take on a top side at their home and put our best foot forward. The team showed a level of maturity last week to bounce back and put out a strong performance for our fans.” 

“We haven’t won in Auckland since 2019 – so we know that there is a massive challenge ahead of the side.” 

After captaining his home side, in Wellington for the first time – the ever-present Billy Proctor is joined by Jordie Barrett in midfield, with the back three of Kini Naholo, Josh Moorby and Ruben Love primed to set the game alight. 

The Hurricanes lead the try scoring charts, on 53 tries for the season – with the Blues and Chiefs, tied in second on 52 tries apiece. 

Hurricanes team to face the Blues at 4:35pm at Eden Park. 

1. Xavier Numia 
2. Kianu Kereru-Symes 
3. Tyrel Lomax 
4. Caleb Delany 
5. Isaia Walker-Leawere 
6. Brad Shields (C) 
7. Peter Lakai 
8. Brayden Iose 
9. TJ Perenara 
10. Brett Cameron 
11. Kini Naholo 
12. Jordie Barrett 
13. Billy Proctor 
14. Josh Moorby 
15. Ruben Love 
16. Raymond Tuputupu 
17. Pouri Rakete-Stones 
18. Pasilio Tosi 
19. Justin Sangster 
20. Devan Flanders 
21. Du’Plessis Kirifi 
22. Richard Judd 
23. Bailyn Sullivan 

Latest News