Jordan Taufua starts on his official test debut for Samoa

Jordan Taufua starts on his official test debut for Samoa

Leinster prop Michael Alaalatoa will captain Samoa in their second Pacific Nations Cup match against Tonga on Saturday (kick-off 1 am BST).

Alaalatoa is joined in the front row by debutant Andrew Tuala and hooker Ray Niuia with Sam Slade and Chris Vui in the second row.

Theo McFarland and Jack Lam start on the flanks with Jordan Taufua makes his test debut for the Samoans. 

Jonathan Taumateine replaces Enari Eratara at scrumhalf with AJ Alatimu replacing Rodney Ioane at flyhalf.

Nigel Ah Wong makes his official test debut after featuring last weekend while former Chiefs centre Tumua Manu debuts in the number 12 jumper; Neria Fomai joins him in the centres.

There is another starting debut for Danny Toala, who also featured last week.

Aki Seiuli, Fritz Lee, Lolagi Visinia,  is in the same boat as Toala and Ah Wong as they takes spots on the bench.

Kalolo Tuiloma, Michael Curry, Auvasa Falealii, and D'Angelo Leuila round out the bench.

View this post on Instagram

A post shared by Ultimate Rugby (@ultimaterugby)

Samoa team to face Tonga:

  1. Andrew Tuala*
  2. Ray Niuia
  3. Michael Alaalatoa (C)
  4. Sam Slade
  5. Chris Vui
  6. Theo McFarland
  7. Jack Lam
  8. Jordan Tuafua*
  9. Jonathan Taumateine
  10. AJ Alatimu
  11. Nigel Ah Wong*
  12. Tumua Manu*
  13. Neria Fomai
  14. Ed Fidow
  15. Danny Toala*

Replacements (16-23): Seilala Lam, Aki Seiuli*, Kaolo Tuioma, Michael Curry*, Fritz Lee*, Auvasa Falealii, D'Angelo Leuila, Lolagi Visinia.

Latest News