Munster Side To Face Ulster

Munster Side To Face Ulster

The Munster side has been named for our first Interpro derby of the season against Ulster in Belfast on Friday night (7.35pm, live on RTÉ).

Hooker Diarmuid Barron captains Munster for the first time with Fineen Wycherley starting on his 100th Munster appearance.

Three Academy players are included in the squad with five changes to the starring XV that beat Dragons at Musgrave Park last week.

Antoine Frisch and Jack Crowley come into the backline with returning Ireland international Jeremy Loughman, Fineen Wycherley and John Hodnett starting in the pack.

The back three personnel are unchanged with Shane Daly at full-back as Calvin Nash and Seán O’Brien swap wings.

Alex Nankivell moves to inside centre and starts with Antoine Frisch in midfield for the first time as Craig Casey and Jack Crowley start together for the first time this season in the half-backs.

Loughman, Barron and John Ryan pack down in the front row with Academy lock Edwin Edogbo and Wycherley in the engine room.

Alex Kendellen, Hodnett and Gavin Coombes complete the starting XV.

Scott Buckley, Josh Wycherley and Stephen Archer provide the front row back-up as Tom Ahern and Academy back-row Brian Gleeson complete the forward cover.

Paddy Patterson, Rory Scannell and 19-year-old Academy back three player Ben O’Connor are the backline replacements.

Jack O’Donoghue was not considered for selection due to illness.

Munster: Shane Daly; Calvin Nash, Antoine Frisch, Alex Nankivell, Seán O’Brien; Jack Crowley, Craig Casey; Jeremy Loughman, Diarmuid Barron (C), John Ryan; Edwin Edogbo, Fineen Wycherley; Alex Kendellen, John Hodnett, Gavin Coombes.

Replacements: Scott Buckley, Josh Wycherley, Stephen Archer, Tom Ahern, Brian Gleeson, Paddy Patterson, Rory Scannell, Ben O’Connor.

Latest News