No Englishmen or Irishmen in Rugby World's Team of the Decade

No Englishmen or Irishmen in Rugby World's Team of the Decade

The Rugby World Magazine has named their team of the decade with a number of top players omitted.

New Zealand dominate the team with 8 players making the squad while strangely enough, there is no space for any Englishmen or Irishmen whilst two Welshmen creep in.

The usual suspects of  Richie McCaw and Dan Carter make the side while one might think that Sam Warburton might sneak in as one of the Welshman but he is beaten to the side with David Pocock and Michael Hooper both named in the back row with McCaw.

Keven Mealamu, Owen Franks, Brodie Retallick, Richie McCaw, Aaron Smith, Dan Carter, Ma’a Nonu and Ben Smith are the All Blacks that make the XV while Nemani Nadolo is the only Fijian in the squad.

Jonathan Davies and Alun Wyn Jones are the two Welshman that make the side while Tendai Mtawarira and Bryan Habana are the two Springboks.

Rugby World's Team of the Decade: 

Backs (15-9): Ben Smith, Nemani Nadolo, Jonathan Davies, Ma’a Nonu, Bryan Habana, Dan Carter, Aaron Smith

Forwards (8-1): David Pocock, Richie McCaw, Michael Hooper, Alun Wyn Jones, Brodie Retallick, Owen Franks, Keven Mealamu, Tendai Mtawarira 

Full Story

More News

Latest News