Super Rugby AU Line Ups | Waratahs v Brumbies

Super Rugby AU Line Ups | Waratahs v Brumbies

Super Rugby Au round three sees the Reds face off against the Western Force while the Waratahs host the Brumbies.

Wallaby Tom Banks has been named to start for the Brumbies in their blockbuster showdown against arch-rivals the NSW Waratahs at ANZ Stadium on Saturday. The electric fullback has overcome a foot complaint and will make his first appearance in the new Super Rugby AU competition. The rest of starting XV remains the same as the one that defeated the Melbourne Rebels 31-23 in round one with skipper Allan Alaalatoa, Folau Fainga'a and James Slipper making up the front row.

After an impressive outing in round one, young lock Darcy Swain again partners Murray Douglas in the second row with Olympian Tom Cusack, Rob Valetini and Pete Samu finalising the forward pack. Joe Powell and Noah Lolesio will continue to build on their combination in the halves, as will Irae Simone and Tevita Kuridrani in the midfield, who have started all but one game together so far in 2020. Try scorers against the Rebels, Tom Wright and Andy Muirhead keep their spots on the wings, with Banks wearing the number 15 jersey.

Canberra product Connal McInerney will wear the 16 jersey and will be alongside Scott Sio and Tom Ross to provide the spark as front row replacements. Vice-captain Lachlan McCaffrey and Will Miller round out the forward finishers, while livewire halfback Issak Fines is in line for his second appearance for the club after making his Super Rugby debut in round one. Bayley Kuenzle and Mack Hansen round out the matchday 23.

It's the NSW Waratahs second successive game on home soil, as they welcome back Tom Robertson from injury, with Karmichael Hunt and Jack Dempsey also returning to the starting side. It's a significant injection of experience for Penney, with Hunt making a successful return from injury off the bench in Round 2. He'll partner Joey Walton in midfield, with Alex Newsome shifting to the wing in place of Mark Nawaqnaitawse.

The winger joins a slew of Junior Wallabies on the reserves with Will Harris, Angus Bell, Ben Donaldson and Michael McDonald all on the bench. It's an all Sydney University front row in Round 3, with Tom Horton making his first professional start after coming off the bench in the opening two rounds of the competition.

What the coaches said:

"It's great to see Tom back in the side, he had such a great start to the year and he's a really important voice for us out there on the field."

"Mack was good in his first start for the Brumbies in round one and he'll provide some real spark for us as a replacement on Saturday night.

"It's always a tough challenge against the Waratahs and we're expecting nothing less on Saturday night like it always is and we'll be ready for that battle at ANZ Stadium." - Brumbies coach Dan McKellar said.

"The Rebels had a great outing against the Brumbies, I think we really respect the Brumbies without being intimidated by them as a forward pack. That's a good place for us to be in. The thinking has always been to try to give Tom Horton an opportunity … he had his first taste last week [of Super Rugby] and we were pleased with what we saw. We see this as a great challenge for him and these Sydney Uni front-rowers have all played together, so it was just a nice synergy to unleash the three of them together." - Waratahs' coach Rob Penney said.


1. Tom Robertson

2. Tom Horton

3. Harry Johnson-Holmes

4. Ned Hanigan

5. Rob Simmons (C)

6. Lachlan Swinton

7. Michael Hooper

8. Jack Dempsey

9. Mitch Short

10. Will Harrison

11. Alex Newsome (VC)

12. Karmichael Hunt

13. Joey Walton

14. James Ramm

15. Jack Maddocks


16. Robbie Abel

17. Tetera Faulkner

18. Angus Bell

19. Tom Staniforth

20. Will Harris

21. Michael McDonald

22. Mark Nawaqanitawase

23. Ben Donaldson


1. James Slipper

2. Folau Fainga'a

3. Allan Alaalatoa

4. Darcy Swain

5. Murray Douglas

6. Rob Valetini

7. Tom Cusack

8. Pete Samu

9. Joe Powell

10. Noah Lolesio

11.Tom Wright

12. Irae Simone

13. Tevita Kuridrani

14. Andy Muirhead

15. Tom Banks


16. Connal McInerney

17. Scott Sio

18. Tom Ross

19. Locky McCaffrey

20. Will Miller

21. Issak Fines

22. Bayley Kuenzle

23. Mack Hansen

Latest News