Wits vs CUT match report

Wits vs CUT match report

The first Varsity Cup match of Monday night saw  Wits pick up their maiden Varsity Cup win over CUT.


Wits dominated possession, territory and the scoreboard, running out 43-3 victors on a historic day for Wits rugby.


The game was off to a wonderful start for the home side, when winger Wandisile Simelane dived into the corner to give his side an early lead of 7-0 after flyhalf Warren Gilbert converted the try. The match then saw CUT hit back, when they managed to get themselves on the scoreboard, thanks to a 50m penalty converted by CUT flyhalf Martin Jacobs.


The hosts then added a further 15 points without reply, courtesy of captain Warren Gilbert’s boot and a try from lock Graham Logan. Both sides then headed into the break with Wits leading 22-3.


The second half saw a Wits onslaught on their visitors, with both teams suffering a few injuries and CUT getting two players sent to the 'Afkoelstoel' (Sin Bin). This definitely put the visitors in a tough position as after that, Wits kept piling the points on the scoreboard with no reply from CUT.


The game eventually saw the Witsies come close to putting 50 points on the board, with substitute prop Ameer Williams having the last say for the hosts, when he crossed over to bring the score to 43-3 at the close of play.


Rhyno Herbst earned the award for the Player that Rocks after a great performance in the second row. Wits now have a bye in the next round, and it will be a well deserved rest after a great first victory in the Varsity Cup.



FNB Wits: 43

Tries: Wandisile Simelane, Graham Logan, Justin Brandon, Constant Beckerling, Ameer Williams

Cons: Warren Gilbert (5)

Pen: Warren Gilbert (2)



Pen: Martin Jacobs



FNB Wits starting XV: 15. Lux Ntsepe, 14.Kwanele Ngema 13. Joshua Jarvis, 12. Brandan Hewitt, 11. Wandisile Simelane, 10. Warren Gilbert(capt), 9. Ruan Cloete, 8. Constant Beckerling, 7. Conor Brockschmidt, 6. Ruan Macdonald, 5. Graham Logan, 4. Rhyno Herbst, 3. Luvuyo Pupuma, 2. CJ Conradie, 1. Cornelius Greeff. 

Subs: 16. Justin Brandon, 17. Brandon Palmer, 18. Pascal Snyman, 19. Jethro De Lange, 20. Karl Erasmus, 21. Manuel Rass, 22. Jarred Branco, 23. Ameer Williams


FNB CUT Starting XV: 15. Denver Klue, 14. Mosego Toolo, 13. Waldo Putter, 12. Clinton Toua, 11.) Tsitetso Madonsela, 10. Martin Jacobs, 9. Ruben Heymans, 8. Stefan Kruger, 7. Sylvester Makakole, 6. Dean Rossouw (C), 5. Ryno Nel, 4. Andre Venter, 3. Henco Smit, 2. Theuns Truter, 1. Jean Volkwyn

Subs: 16. Stefan Jacobs, 17. Kabous Van Schalkwyk, 18. Kyle Ess, 19. Kian Skippers, 20. Dian Dry, 21. Dean Jacobs, 22. Ruan Wasserman, 23. Denzil Fiff.

Latest News