Brumbies name team

Brumbies name team

Brumbies return from the bye week to tackle the Blues in this Saturday's Round 9 Super Rugby Pacific fixture, kicking off at 5:05PM AEST at Eden Park, Auckland.

Seen by many as the Super Rugby Pacific Match of the Round, the 3rd place Brumbies will take on the 2nd place Blues looking to cement their place in the top 4.

Captain Ryan Lonergan makes his return to the Brumbies line-up after he was ruled out in the lead up to the club's 40-16 win over the NSW Waratahs a fortnight ago.

Head Coach Stephen Larkham has named the same front row consisting of James Slipper, Billy Pollard and Sosefo Kautai which played in the club’s previous outing.

Darcy Swain has been named in the second row, alongside Caderyn Neville who returns to the starting side. Jahrome Brown has also been named to start, linking up with the in form Rob Valetini and Charlie Cale in the backrow.

The Brumbies have named the same backline over the last three fixtures, consisting of Noah Lolesio, Corey Toole, Tamati Tua, Hudson Creighton, Ollie Sapsford and Tom Wright for the Auckland encounter.

Larkham has opted for a 6-2 split on the interchange bench, with Blake Schoupp a notable inclusion for this weekend's match. Schoupp makes his return after he suffered a shoulder injury in Round 4 against the Highlanders in Dunedin. Schoupp joins Connal McInerney and Rhys Van Nek to provide cover for the front-row.

Elsewhere, the Wallaby duo of Nick Frost and Tom Hooper provides the Brumbies with firepower at their disposal, alongside backrower Luke Reimer. Whilst Harrison Goddard and Jack Debreczini rounds out the interchange bench.

The Brumbies Super Rugby Women’s side will fight for a spot in the 2024 Super Rugby Womens Grand Final when they face the NSW Waratahs on Friday, 5:45PM AEST at Allianz Stadium. 

Head coach Scott Fava has kept a similar squad to last week's Round 5 match with just the one change to his starting 15, and two additions in total to the side.

Captain Siokapesi Palu will be making history for the Brumbies as she will become the first player to achieve 25 matches for the club, giving even more special meaning for the side in the semi-final
2024 Super Rugby Pacific – Round 9
Safeguard Global ACT Brumbies v Blues
Saturday 20 April, 5:05PM AEST
Eden Park, Auckland

Starting XV

  1. James Slipper (Queanbeyan Whites)
  2. Billy Pollard (Uni-Norths Owls)
  3. Sosefo Kautai (Canberra Royals)
  4. Darcy Swain (Tuggeranong Vikings)
  5. Cadeyrn Neville (Uni-Norths Owls)
  6. Rob Valetini (Western Districts)
  7. Jahrome Brown (Gungahlin Eagles)
  8. Charlie Cale (Uni-North Owls)
  9. Ryan Lonergan (C) (Tuggeranong Vikings)
  10. Noah Lolesio (Tuggeranong Vikings)
  11. Corey Toole (Gungahlin Eagles)
  12. Tamati Tua (Queanbeyan Whites)
  13. Hudson Creighton (Queanbeyan Whites)
  14. Ollie Sapsford (Uni-Norths Owls)
  15. Tom Wright (Western Districts) 

16. Connal McInerney (Canberra Royals)
17. Blake Schoupp (Queanbeyan Whites)
18. Rhys Van Nek (Uni-Norths Owls)
19. Nick Frost (Queanbeyan Whites)
20. Tom Hooper (Tuggeranong Vikings)
21. Luke Reimer (Western Districts)
22. Harrison Goddard (Queanbeyan Whites)
23. Jack Debreczeni (VC) (Uni-Norths Owls)

Head Coach
Stephen Larkham

Latest News