Chris Ashton named in Barbarians squad to face England at Twickenham

Chris Ashton named in Barbarians squad to face England at Twickenham

Former England international wing Chris Ashton has been named in Pat Lam's Barbarians squad to face England in the Quilter Cup clash at Twickenham next Sunday.

The try scoring machine proved to be an incredible signing for Toulon this season after his summer switch from Saracens, setting a new individual domestic try-scoring record of 24 tries during the 26 game regular season.

Ashton scored 19 tries in 39 appearances for England and received the last of his Test caps against the All Blacks in the summer of 2014.

He fell out of favour with former head coach Stuart Lancaster and has failed to earn a recall under Eddie Jones despite the Australian coach describing him as “a real winner” and selecting him in his first squad prior to the 2016 Six Nations before suspension barred his involvement.

Ashton is one of four Stade Mayol-based players called up by Lam, also selected are lethal Fijian backs Josua Tuisova and Semi Radradra and Argentina back-row great Juan Martin Fernandez Lobbe.

Connacht centre Bundee Aki, a Grand Slam winner with Ireland in this year's Six Nations, will captain the squad with Lam set to make further additions on Monday before the squad meets in London.

Barbarians squad

Backs: Niyi Adeolokun (Connacht & Ireland), Bundee Aki (Connacht & Ireland), Chris Ashton (Toulon & England), Greig Laidlaw (Clermont & Scotland), Luke McAlister (Toulon & New Zealand), AJ McGinty (Sale Sharks & USA), Charles Piutau (Ulster & New Zealand), Semi Radradra (Toulon), Josua Tuisova (Toulon & Fiji), Rhodri Williams (Dragons & Wales)

Forwards: John Afoa (Gloucester & New Zealand), Ultan Dillane (Connacht & Ireland), Juan Martin Fernandez Lobbe (Toulon & Argentina), Ramiro Herrera (Stade Francais & Argentina), Benjamin Kayser (Clermont & France), Tatafu Polota-Nau (Leicester & Australia), Sitaleki Timani (Clermont & Australia), Justin Tipuric (Ospreys & Wales), Loni Uhila (Clermont), Flip van der Merwe (Clermont & South Africa), Victor Vito (La Rochelle & New Zealand)

More News

Latest News