Darge To Captain Scotland Against Italy

Darge To Captain Scotland Against Italy

Rory Darge will lead Scotland for the first time as they take on Italy in the opening game of Nations Series at Murrayfield on Saturday.

The 23-year-old Glasgow Warriors flanker earned his first Scotland cap against Wales in the 2022 Guinness Six Nations and has gone onto win another six since. Darge has previous captaincy experience, leading the Scotland U20 team during the Under-20 Six Nations three years ago.

Glasgow Warriors centre Stafford McDowall and Leicester Tigers second row Cameron Henderson are set to make their Scotland debuts. McDowall has previously made appearances for Scotland U18 and U20 and Henderson, who was born in Hong Kong but qualifies to play for Scotland through his Scottish dad, also featured for the national age-grade teams.

In the pack, loosehead prop Rory Sutherland has been selected along with tighthead Murphy Walker, with George Turner starting at hooker. Sam Skinner and Scott Cummings come into the second row, with blindside flanker Luke Crosbie and No 8 Matt Fagerson joining Darge in the back row.

Edinburgh Rugby’s new signing Ben Healy, who made his first appearance for Scotland during the final 2023 Guinness Six Nations match against Italy earlier this year, starts at stand-off alongside Ali Price at scrum half.

The backs see Kyle Steyn and Darcy Graham line up on the wings, joined by Chris Harris and debutant McDowell in the centre. Ollie Smith completes the starting 15 at full back having played in the most recent win over Italy in March.

The replacement bench contains a five-three split with Stuart McInally, Jamie Bhatti, Javan Sebastian, Henderson and Josh Bayliss in place to cover the forwards, and Jamie Dobie, Blair Kinghorn and Cameron Redpath named to bolster the backs.

Scotland team to face Italy

15. Ollie Smith (Glasgow Warriors) 3 caps

14. Darcy Graham (Edinburgh Rugby) 33 caps
13. Chris Harris (Gloucester Rugby) – Vice-Captain – 42 caps
12. Stafford McDowall (Glasgow Warriors) uncapped
11. Kyle Steyn (Glasgow Warriors) 10 caps

10. Ben Healy (Edinburgh Rugby) 1 cap
9. Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors) 61 caps

1. Rory Sutherland (unattached) 23 caps
2. George Turner (Glasgow Warriors) 35 caps
3. Murphy Walker (Glasgow Warriors) 2 caps
4. Sam Skinner (Edinburgh Rugby) – Vice-captain – 25 caps
5. Scott Cummings (Glasgow Warriors)  25 caps
6. Luke Crosbie (Edinburgh Rugby)  4 caps
7. Rory Darge (Glasgow Warriors) – Captain – 7 caps
8. Matt Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors)  33 caps

Latest News