Dragons ring in a total of ten changes as Marco Zano set for 50th Benetton cap

Dragons ring in a total of ten changes as Marco Zano set for 50th Benetton cap


Wales international Ben Carter captains Dragons RFC for the first time as the team face Benetton Rugby in the BKT United Rugby Championship on Sunday afternoon (kick-off 2.45pm UK time).

The Men of Gwent make a total of ten changes to the side that were narrow defeated by the Cell C Sharks last weekend at Rodney Parade.

Carter, 21, skippers the team and becomes the second youngest player ever to captain the club – only behind legendary centre Ashley Smith in the record books.

Joe Davies is called into the second row alongside Carter while a new-look back row sees Sean Lonsdale, Ben Fry and Aaron Wainwright combine.

Loosehead Rob Evans makes his first start for the club while Chris Coleman is also named in the front row.

Fit-again fly half JJ Hanrahan will join forces with Lewis Jones at half back.

Wing Jared Rosser replaces the injured Ashton Hewitt while there is also a first league start for Max Clark.

The bench could see debuts for front row Rhodri Jones and centre Steff Hughes while Sam Davies needs only two points to reach 500 for the club.

Dragons RFC: Angus O’Brien, Rio Dyer, Max Clark, Jack Dixon, Jared Rosser, JJ Hanrahan, Lewis Jones; Rob Evans, Elliot Dee, Chris Coleman, Joe Davies, Ben Carter (c), Sean Lonsdale, Ben Fry, Aaron Wainwright

Replacements: Bradley Roberts, Rhodri Jones, Lloyd Fairbrother, Ross Moriarty, Taine Basham, Rhodri Williams, Sam Davies, Steff Hughes

Unavailable: Leon Brown (neck), Ollie Griffiths (back), Ashton Hewitt (ankle), Harri Keddie (ankle), Aneurin Owen (hamstring), George Nott (hand), Will Reed

Benetton Rugby

Benetton have nine points and occupy the sixth place in the standings.

Marco Bortolami has chosen a good part of the team that beat the Scarlets last weekend.

On the bench, Marco Zanon is set to make his 50th appearance in green and white. In addition, Manuel Arroyo can make his debut for the first time with the Italian side.

15 Edoardo Padovani (27)
14 Marcus Watson (1)
13 Ignacio Brex (59)
12 Tommaso Menoncello (19)
11 Ignacio Mendy (3)
10 Tomas Albornoz (16)
9 Dewaldt Duvenage (75) (c)
8 Lorenzo Cannone (14)
7 Michele Lamaro (40)
6 Manuel Zuliani (33)
5 Federico Ruzza (90)
4 Scott Scrafton (3)
3 Simone Ferrari (83)
2 Giacomo Nicotera (18)
1 Ivan Nemer (36)

Subs: 16 Manuel Arroyo (rookie), 17 Thomas Gallo (30), 18 Tiziano Pasquali (101), 19 Niccolò Cannone (46), 20 Toa Halafihi (53), 21 Sam Hidalgo-Clyne (3), 22 Marco Zanon (49), 23 Mattia Bellini (4).

Latest News