England name team to face Wales

England name team to face Wales

The England team that will take on Wales in the Guinness Six Nations this weekend has been named.

Steve Borthwick’s side will travel to Cardiff today [Thursday 23 February] ahead of the game at the Principality Stadium on Saturday (4.45pm KO).

In the only change to the England starting team that beat Italy 31-14 a fortnight ago, Anthony Watson comes in at left wing.  Max Malins is on the right wing and Freddie Steward is at full back.

Captain Owen Farrell is at fly half, with Ollie Lawrence at inside centre and Henry Slade at outside centre.  Jack van Poortvliet stays at scrum half.

In an unchanged forward pack, vice-captain Ellis Genge joins Kyle Sinckler and hooker Jamie George in the front row.

Maro Itoje and Ollie Chessum are at lock.  Flankers Lewis Ludlam and Jack Willis and No. 8 Alex Dombrandt complete the XV.

Vice-captain Courtney Lawes could make his England return following injury after being named as a replacement.  He is alongside Jack Walker, who made his England debut against Italy, Mako Vunipola, Dan Cole, Ben Curry, Alex Mitchell, Marcus Smith and Henry Arundell.

Wales v England is live on BBC One and BBC Radio 5 Live.
15. Freddie Steward (Leicester Tigers, 19 caps)
14. Max Malins (Saracens, 16 caps)
13. Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs, 53 caps)
12. Ollie Lawrence (Bath Rugby, 9 caps)
11. Anthony Watson (Leicester Tigers, 52 caps)
10. Owen Farrell (Saracens, 103 caps) (C)
9. Jack van Poortvliet (Leicester Tigers, 9 caps)
1. Ellis Genge (Bristol Bears, 45 caps) (VC)
2. Jamie George (Saracens, 74 caps)
3. Kyle Sinckler (Bristol Bears, 58 caps)
4. Maro Itoje (Saracens, 64 caps)
5. Ollie Chessum (Leicester Tigers, 7 caps)
6. Lewis Ludlam (Northampton Saints, 16 caps)
7. Jack Willis (Toulouse, 7 caps)
8. Alex Dombrandt (Harlequins, 11 caps)
16. Jack Walker (Harlequins, 1 cap)
17. Mako Vunipola (Saracens, 76 caps)
18. Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers, 97 caps)
19. Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, 96 caps) (VC)
20. Ben Curry (Sale Sharks, 2 caps)
21. Alex Mitchell (Northampton Saints, 2 caps)
22. Marcus Smith (Harlequins, 19 caps)
23. Henry Arundell (London Irish, 4 caps)

Latest News