England stars start Saracens' season opener against Harlequins

England stars start Saracens' season opener against Harlequins

Saracens Director of Rugby Mark McCall has included England stars Maro Itoje, Billy Vunipola, Owen Farrell, Elliot Daly, Jamie George, and Mako Vunipola in his team to face Harlequins.

The 2021/22 finalists were on a bye in the opening weekend of the new season but return with a bang as they go up against their London rivals.

Wales international Nick Tompkins makes his 150th appearance for the club after debuting back in 2012.

McCall welcomes back a number of players who were on international duty throughout the summer, as his side look to start the season strongly on Saturday.

Eroni Mawi, Tom Woolstencroft and Christian Judge start in a powerful front-row, with Maro Itoje partnering summer signing Hugh Tizard in the second-row.

Theo McFarland starts at blindside flanker, with Ben Earl at openside and Billy Vunipola at the base of the scrum.

Scrum-half Ivan van Zyl will be alongside captain Owen Farrell at fly-half, with Tompkins and Alex Lozowski making up a familiar midfield partnership.

Alex Lewington will be on the left wing, whilst Max Malins will be on the right and Elliot Daly at full-back.

There is a wealth of experience on the bench, with the likes of Jamie George, Mako Vunipola, Jackson Wray and Duncan Taylor all ready to make an impact when required.

Tompkins spoke of his gratitude to those at the club who have helped him reach his 150th appearance.

“It’s an amazing feeling to get this many caps for such a special team and with such special teammates. I’m very grateful to have the opportunities that have been given to me.”

Saracens Men team to play Harlequins:

1 Eroni Mawi

2 Tom Woolstencroft

3 Christian Judge

4 Maro Itoje

5 Hugh Tizard

6 Theo McFarland

7 Ben Earl

8 Billy Vunipola

9 Ivan van Zyl

10 Owen Farrell (c)

11 Alex Lewington

12 Nick Tompkins

13 Alex Lozowski

14 Max Malins

15 Elliot Daly


16 Jamie George

17 Mako Vunipola

18 Alec Clarey

19 Andy Christie

20 Jackson Wray

21 Aled Davies

22 Manu Vunipola

23 Duncan Taylor


Latest News