Five uncapped players invited to Springbok camp

Five uncapped players invited to Springbok camp

The Springboks have invited five uncapped players to their training camp in Stellenbosch, with Salmaan Moerat, Marco van Staden, Damian Willemse, JD Schickerling and Cobus Wiese set to join the squad consisting of players from the Stormers and Bulls, as preparation for next month's Rugby Championship.

SA Rugby’s Director of Rugby, Rassie Erasmus, confirmed that players from the Lions and Sharks will join the training camp once they’ve completed their Super Rugby commitments.


Stormers players Willemse (flyhalf) and Moerat (lock) both starred for the Junior Springboks earlier this year. They will be joined in Stellenbosch by their franchise team-mates Schickerling (lock) and Wiese (flank/lock), who also played for the SA Under-20s earlier in their careers, while Van Staden (loose forward) has been in great form for the Bulls.


Also included in the training squad were the experienced Eben Etzebeth (lock), Coenie Oosthuizen (prop) and Trevor Nyakane (prop), all of whom missed the June internationals due to injury.


The following players from the DHL Stormers and Vodacom Bulls have been invited to the Springbok training camp in Stellenbosch (in alphabetical order):



Pieter-Steph du Toit (DHL Stormers)

Eben Etzebeth (DHL Stormers)

Steven Kitshoff (DHL Stormers)

Siya Kolisi (DHL Stormers)

Wilco Louw (DHL Stormers)

Frans Malherbe (DHL Stormers)

Bongi Mbonambi (DHL Stormers)

Salmaan Moerat (DHL Stormers) *

Sikhumbuzo Notshe (DHL Stormers)

Trevor Nyakane (Vodacom Bulls)

Coenie Oosthuizen (Cell C Sharks)

JD Schickerling (DHL Stormers) *

RG Snyman (Vodacom Bulls)

Marco van Staden (Vodacom Bulls) *

Cobus Wiese (DHL Stormers) *



Damian de Allende (DHL Stormers)

Warrick Gelant (Vodacom Bulls)

Jesse Kriel (Vodacom Bulls)

Embrose Papier (Vodacom Bulls)

Handré Pollard (Vodacom Bulls)

Ivan van Zyl (Vodacom Bulls)

Damian Willemse (DHL Stormers) *


* Denotes uncapped players

More News

Latest News