France U20's change 9 for Scotland clash

France U20's change 9 for Scotland clash

France Under-20s have made nine changes to their side for the Round Three clash with Scotland in Pau as they look to bounce back from defeat in England.

Last year’s champions fell to a 31-19 loss at Sandy Park, leaving them with work to do to get back into Championship contention.

Sébastien Piqueronies, the manager of the Under-20s, explained that this new-look side had been planned prior to the start of the competition.

He said: “There are changes with regards to the first two games in a bid to improve the collective performance. The Championship is a chance for us to work on our game.

“Despite the loss in England, we are staying the course and these changes were planned. We have been working with an extended group since the camp in Valence at the start of the Championship.

“The staff has faith in a group of about 40 players who we have identified, put into a hierarchy and selected.

“We will take on Scotland with lots of desire and determination.”

There are four changes to the pack, with Eli Eglaine and Pierre Jutge coming into the front row, while La Rochelle duo Thomas Lavault and Paul Boudehent start in the second row and back row respectively, with the former captaining the side.

In the backs, the new half-back pairing is Baptiste Germain and Mathieu Smaïli, while Simon Desaubies and Yoram Moefana come into the centres.

Finally, Erwan Dridi gets his first start on the wing, having come off the bench against the English.

France Under-20s to face Scotland:

15. Alex de Nardi (Stade Montois)
14. Vincent Pinto (Section Paloise)
13. Yoram Moefana (US Colomiers)
12. Simon Desaubies (Bordeaux-Bègles)
11. Erwan Dridi (RC Toulon)
10. Mathieu Smaïli (RC Toulon)
9. Baptiste Germain (Bordeaux-Bègles)

1. Eli Eglaine (FC Grenoble)
2. Pierre Jutge (US Colomiers)
3. Giorgi Béria (ASM Clermont Auvergne)
4. Thomas Lavault (c) (Stade Rochelais)
5. Gauthier Maravat (SU Agen)
6. Thibault Hamonou (Stade Toulousain)
7. Paul Boudehent (Stade Rochelais)
8. Jordan Joseph (Racing 92)


16. Rayne Barka (Section Paloise)
17. Sami Zouhair (Lyon OU)
18. Alex Burin (SU Agen)
19. Florent Vanverberghe (RC Toulon)
20. Mathieu Hirigoyen (Biarritz Olympique)
21. Quentin Delord (Lyon OU)
22. Jules Favre (Stade Rochelais)
23. Cheikh Tiberghien (Aviron Bayonnais)


More News

Latest News