Galthie names 31-man France squad

Galthie names 31-man France squad

France head coach Fabien Galthie has named his squad for the upcoming series of France Test matches which begin against Wales in Paris on October 24.

The clash against Wales has been dubbed as a preparation game before France complete their Six Nations campaign against Ireland before Autumn Nations Cup clash against Fiji, Scotland, Italy and their playoff game.

Included in the squad is uncapped La Rochelle winger Arthur Retiere as Galthie has stuck to a largely familiar squad to the one that kicked off the Six Nations earlier this year with three straight wins.

There are a few other fresh faces as star centre Virimi Vakatawa is joined in the squad by his club centre partner Olivier Klemenczak while Racing 92 prop Georges-Henri Colombe also gets the nod.

Toulouse looseforward Selevasio Tolofua comes into the squad ahead of Sekou Macalou while Alexandre Fischer has also missed out.

Montpellier tighthead, Mohamed Haouas, has been included in the squad despite getting sent off for punching in France's Six Nations' clash with Scotland while Baptiste Serin joins Antoine Dupont as one of two scrumhalves in the squad despite Serin still nursing an injury.

Star winger Damian Penaud misses out after he picked up an injury last week in training for Clermont with Galthie opting to include Vincent Rattez, Teddy Thomas and Arthur Retière as his wingers.

Props: Cyril Baille (Toulouse), Jean-Baptiste Gros (Toulon), Mohamed Haouas (Montpellier), Demba Bamba (Lyon), Georges-Henri Colombe (Racing 92).

Hookers: Camille Chat (Racing 92), Julien Marchand (Toulouse), Peato Mauvaka (Toulouse).

Second rows: Bernard Le Roux (Racing), Paul Willemse (Montpellier), Romain Taofifenua (Toulon), Killian Géraci (Lyon).

Back rows: François Cros (Toulouse), Charles Ollivon (Toulon), Dylan Crétin (Lyon), Grégory Alldritt (La Rochelle), Selevasio Tolofua (Toulouse), Cameron Woki (Bordeaux-Bègles).

Scrum-halves: Antoine Dupont (Toulouse), Baptiste Serin (Toulon).

Flyhalves: Romain Ntamack (Toulouse), Matthieu Jalibert (Bordeaux).

Centres: Virimi Vakatawa (Racing), Gaël Fickou (Stade Français), Arthur Vincent (Montpellier), Olivier Klemenczak (Racing 92).

Outside Backs: Vincent Rattez (Montpellier), Teddy Thomas (Racing), Arthur Retière (La Rochelle), Anthony Bouthier (Montpellier), Thomas Ramos (Toulouse).

Latest News