Jacob Umaga & Sam Wolstenholme join Wasps first-team

Jacob Umaga & Sam Wolstenholme join Wasps first-team

Wasps have announced that Senior Academy fly-half Jacob Umaga has been promoted to the first-team – becoming the eighth player to make the step up ahead of the 2019/20 season.

Meanwhile, Wasps have also signed young scrum-half Sam Wolstenholme from Yorkshire Carnegie.

The 20-year-old, who is studying Economics at Loughborough University, made 23 appearances for the Leeds-based outfit and will join Umaga as part of a 48-man senior squad at Wasps for the 2019/20 campaign.

Umaga, the nephew of former All Black Tana and son of ex-Samoa star Mike, is the latest Academy youngster to be promoted to the first-team, following the likes of Tom Willis, Gabriel Oghre, Will Porter, Tim Cardall, Callum Sirker, Owain James and Sam Spink.

The 20-year-old, who has scored four tries in his seven first-team appearances to date, was in impressive form last season for Wasps A in the Premiership Rugby Shield, racking up 82 points in his seven outings, which included three tries, 26 conversions and five penalties.

Umaga, who has also played at full-back, regularly featured for Yorkshire in their recent Championship campaign, following a spell with Auckland in New Zealand, where he was part of the side that won the Mitre 10 Cup in 2018.

Wasps first-team squad 2019/20

Biyi Alo (tighthead-prop)

Josh Bassett (winger)

Kieran Brookes (tighthead-prop)

Tim Cardall (lock)

Nizaam Carr (back-row)

Tom Cruse (hooker)

Juan de Jongh (centre)

Malakai Fekitoa (centre)

Marcus Garratt (lock)

James Gaskell (lock)

Jimmy Gopperth (centre/fly-half)

Ben Harris (loosehead-prop)

Owain James (full-back)

Ashley Johnson (back-row/hooker)

Zach Kibirige (winger)

Joe Launchbury (lock)

Michael Le Bourgeois (centre)

Charlie Matthews (lock)

Simon McIntyre (loosehead-prop)

Rob Miller (full-back)

Matteo Minozzi (full-back)

Ben Morris (back-row)

Ross Neal (centre/winger)

Paolo Odogwu (winger)

Gabriel Oghre (hooker)

Jack Owlett (tighthead-prop)

Will Porter (scrum-half)

Alex Rieder (back-row)

Dan Robson (scrum-half)

Will Rowlands (lock)

Billy Searle (fly-half)

Brad Shields (back-row)

Callum Sirker (winger)

Lima Sopoaga (fly-half)

Sam Spink (centre)

Tommy Taylor (hooker)

Jeff Toomaga-Allen (tighthead-prop)

Jacob Umaga (fly-half)

Sione Vailanu (back-row)

Ben Vellacott (scrum-half)

Theo Vukasinovic (lock)

Marcus Watson (winger)

Tom West (loosehead-prop)

Jack Willis (back-row)

Tom Willis (back-row)

Sam Wolstenholme (scrum-half)

Thomas Young (back-row)

Zurabi Zhvania (loosehead-prop)

More News

Latest News