Leinster announce squad for South African tour

Leinster announce squad for South African tour

Leinster Rugby Head Coach Leo Cullen and club captain Isa Nacewa left their Leinster Rugby together with the rest of the Leinster touring party for the first stage of their trip to South Africa. 

Leinster play the Southern Kings on Saturday in Port Elizabeth and the Cheetahs on the following Friday in Bloemfontein.

In total Cullen has named 28 players and that left Dublin on Tuesday evening, arriving in Johannesburg on Wednesday.

Those ruled out through injury include Dan Leavy (ankle), Rob Kearney (hamstring), Peadar Timmins (quad), Jamie Heaslip (lower back), Richardt Strauss (knee), Tom Daly (knee) and Garry Ringrose (shoulder) while Cullen also confirmed that lock Ian Nagle has had a procedure on a pectoral muscle injury picked up in training and will be out of action for up to 12 weeks.

Finally Cullen also confirmed that Devin Toner and Scott Fardy were not considered for selection as their wives are expecting their first child in the next few weeks.

Leinster Rugby Squad to Tour South Africa – Leinster Caps in Brackets:

  1. Michael Bent (89)
  2. Adam Byrne (26)
  3. Ed Byrne (9)
  4. Ross Byrne (25)
  5. Joey Carbery (23)
  6. Jack Conan (53)
  7. Seán Cronin (130)
  8. Barry Daly (12)
  9. Max Deegan (4)
  10. Peter Dooley (38)
  11. Dave Kearney (111)
  12. Jamison Gibson-Park (30)
  13. Cian Healy (174)
  14. Mick Kearney (22)
  15. Jordan Larmour (2)
  16. Cathal Marsh (20)
  17. Ross Molony (45)
  18. Jordi Murphy (86)
  19. Rory O'Loughlin (23)
  20. Fergus McFadden (152)
  21. Luke McGrath (76)
  22. Isa Nacewa (172)
  23. Andrew Porter (10)
  24. Noel Reid (82)
  25. Rhys Ruddock (132)
  26. James Ryan (1)
  27. James Tracy (44)
  28. Josh van der Flier (48)

More News

Latest News