Marcell Coetzee claims top awards at the Bulls 2021/22 Player Awards ceremony

Marcell Coetzee claims top awards at the Bulls 2021/22 Player Awards ceremony

The Blue Bulls Company hosted a glamorous blue carpet Player Awards ceremony at Heartfelt Arena, Tshwane, on Wednesday evening where players, coaches, board members, staff, sponsors and other stakeholders gathered to celebrate the 2021/22 rugby season.


The Vodacom Bulls had plenty to reflect on with pride on the night, including reaching the inaugural Vodacom United Rugby Championship final, getting as far as the semifinals of the Carling Currie Cup and clinching the SA Rugby Under-20 Cup.


The night belonged to Vodacom Bulls captain, Marcell Coetzee, as well as lively hooker, Johan Grobbelaar, who were the big winners at the ceremony, alongside promising junior player, Tiaan Lange.


The 31-year-old Coetzee walked away with the Vodacom Bulls’ Senior Most Valuable Player (MVP) of the Year award after earlier scooping the Vodacom Fans’ Player of the Year.


Grobbelaar, who had a superb season, claimed three awards on the night. The 24-year-old won the Vodacom URC Forward of the Year, the ISUZU Bold Player of the Year, and the Players’ Player of the Year awards.


Following a great campaign where he played an integral part in the success of the Vodacom Bulls U20 side, hooker, Tiaan Lange, was named the AFGRI Vodacom Bulls Junior MVP of the Year.


“It was a tough, busy and thoroughly enjoyable 2022/23 season which saw the Vodacom Bulls involved in prestigious competitions – the Vodacom United Rugby Championship, Carling Currie Cup and the SA Rugby U20 Cup. It is only proper that we take a bit of time to reflect and celebrate the season that has just passed,” said BBCo CEO, Edgar Rathbone.


“We would like to congratulate all the winners and nominees, and also every single player, coach, member of staff and stakeholder that contributed to a wonderful 2021/22 season. We look forward to reaching greater heights in the upcoming 2022/23 season.”


The list of winners on the night is as follows: 



Vodacom Bulls U20 Forward of the Year: Merwe Olivier
NOMINEES: Marco de Wit, Sebastian Lombard

Vodacom Bulls U20 Back of the Year: Sonwabo Sokoyi
NOMINEES: Carlton Banies, Franco Knoetze

Vodacom Bulls U20 Player of the Year: Cameron Hanekom
NOMINEES: Tiaan Lange, Quewin Nortje



Vodacom Bulls Carling Currie Cup Forward of the Year: Lizo Gqoboka
NOMINEES: Janko Swanepoel, WJ Steenkamp

Vodacom Bulls Carling Currie Cup Back of the Year: Marco Jansen van Vuren
NOMINEES: Canan Moodie, Stedman Gans

Vodacom Bulls Carling Currie Cup Player of the Year: Lizo Gqoboka
NOMINEES: Janko Swanepoel, Morne Steyn



Vodacom Bulls Vodacom URC Forward of the Year: Johan Grobbelaar
NOMINEES: Marcell Coetzee, Ruan Nortje

Vodacom Bulls Vodacom URC Back of the Year: Madosh Tambwe
NOMINEES: Harold Vorster, Kurt-Lee Arendse

Vodacom Bulls Vodacom URC Player of the Year: Ruan Nortje
NOMINEES: Elrigh Louw, Johan Grobbelaar



BRIGHTROCK LoveChange Blue Bulls Company Employee of the Year: Heilie Brits (Finance)

PUMA Most Improved Player of the Year: Canan Moodie

ISUZU ‘The Bold Player’ Award: Johan Grobbelaar

RICHELIEU Team Man of the Year: Jacques van Rooyen

VODACOM Fans’ Player of the Year: Marcell Coetzee

VODACOM Players’ Player of the Year: Johan Grobbelaar

AFGRI Vodacom Bulls Junior MVP of the Year: Tiaan Lange

VODACOM Bulls Senior MVP of the Year: Marcell Coetzee

Latest News