Michael Willemse to captain Southern Kings on first PRO14 tour

Michael Willemse to captain Southern Kings on first PRO14 tour

Southern Kings have confirmed that hooker Michael Willemse will lead the Port Elizabeth side on their maiden PRO14 tour.

“I have decided that Michael Willemse will lead this group on this tour,” said Head coach Deon Davids.

“I think he was one of the standout performers for us last season in the Super Rugby competition. He is one of our core group of players that are still part of our setup. He has been a natural choice for me to take up that role as captain.”

Davids also announced his 27-man touring squad on that will open their PRO14 season with an encounter against defending champions, the Scarlets, in Wales before travelling to Ireland to take on Connacht.

The Southern Kings Guinness PRO14 touring squad for Wales and Ireland is:

FORWARDS                                                                                                        BACKS

Tango Balekile                                                                                                   Masixole Banda

Stephan Coetzee                                                                                             Kurt Coleman

Rossouw de Klerk                                                                                             Ntabeni Dukisa

Bobby de Wee                                                                                                  Rowan Gouws

Martin Dreyer                                                                                                   Berton Klaasen

Schalk Ferreira                                                                                                  Godlen Masimla

Khaya Majola                                                                                                     Jacques Nel

Siyabulela Mdaka                                                                                             Yaw Penxe

Andisa Ntsila                                                                                                      Sibusiso Sithole

Luvuyo Pupuma                                                                                                Rudi van Rooyen

Victor Sekekete                                                                                                Luzuko Vulindlu

Entienne Swanepoel                                                                                       Oliver Zono

Dries van Schalkwyk

Jurie van Vuuren

Michael Willemse (capt)

More News

Latest News