Midi Olympique's Top 14 Team of the Year

Midi Olympique's Top 14 Team of the Year

Well known biweekly French Rugby Newspaper Midi Olympique has announced their Top 14 team of 2018. Eleven of Midi Olympique's journalists have voted for the side that is widely represented by Toulouse and Racing 92.


Six French Internationals make the side with Castres flanker Mathieu Babillot's selection one of the tightest calls. Castres' flyhalf Benjamin Urdapilleta just beats Finn Russell to the side while former Wallabies flanker Liam Gill takes the no.8 jersey.

Racing 92's Leone Nakarawa was the most agreed upon selection with 10 of the 11 of the journalists voting for the Fijian second rower. Finn Russell's incredible start to his time in Paris didn't earn him a place in the side but former Munster outside back Simon Zebo's start to his time in France has.

Eight countries are represented in the team including France, South Africa, Argentina, Ireland, Australia, Samoa, Fiji and even Moldova.

Teams represented: Racing 92 (4), Toulouse (3), Castres (2), Montpellier(2), La Rochelle (1), Union Bordeaux Begles (1), Lyon (1) and Stade Francais (1)

Midi Olympique's Top 14 Team of the Year

1. Dany Priso - La Rochelle 

2. Camille Chat - Racing 92

3. Vadim Cobilas - Union Bordeaux Begles

4. Leone Nakarawa - Racing 92

5. Iosefa Tekori - Toulouse

6. Mathieu Babillot - Castres

7. Sekou Macalou - Stade Francais

8. Liam Gill - Lyon

9. Antoine Dupont - Toulouse 

10. Ben Urdapilleta - Castres

11. Juan Imhoff - Racing 92

12. Frans Steyn - Montpellier

13. Gael Fickou - Montpellier

14. Cheslin Kolbe - Toulouse

15. Simon Zebo - Racing 92

A number of players were given honourable mentions: 

Jerome Kaino, Louis Picamoles, Fritz Lee, Victor Vito, Jordan Joseph, Yoan Tanga, Peceli Yato, Judicael Cancoriet, Jacques Plessis, Joncch, Rynhardt Elstadt, Julien Puricelli , Arthur Iturria, Sebastien Vahaamahina, Felix Lambey, Paul Willemse , Denis Marchois, Rodrigo Capo Ortega, Davit Zirakashvili, Daniel Kotze, Uini Atonio, Marcel Van der Merwe, Demba Bamba, Guilhem Guirado, Mickael  Ivaldi, Bismarck du Plessis, Jefferson Poirot, Mikheil Nariashvili.

Finn Russell, Camille Lopez, Morgan Parra, Maxime Machenaud, Thomas Ramos, Julien Dumora, Kylan Hamdaoui, Isaia Toeava, Chris Ashton, Martin Laveau, Nemani Nadolo, Alivereti Raka, Teddy Thomas, Semi Radradra, Sofiane Guitoune, Wesley Fofana, Henry Chavancy, Virimi Vakatawa, Charlie Ngatai, Romain Ntamack, Damian Penaud, Thomas Combezou .

Story via: RugbyRama

More News

Latest News