Ollie Smith returns to Glasgow squad for Sharks encounter

Ollie Smith returns to Glasgow squad for Sharks encounter

Glasgow Warriors full-back Ollie Smith will make his first appearance of the 2022/23 campaign this weekend, after the 22-year-old was named in the matchday squad for tomorrow afternoon’s clash with the Cell C Sharks in Durban.



Capped for the first time by Scotland during the 2022 summer tour to Argentina, Smith is one of four changes to the starting XV that put the Vodacom Bulls to the sword last weekend, as the Warriors run out at King’s Park for the first time in BKT United Rugby Championship history.

George Turner comes in at hooker for his first start of the season having come off the bench in each of Glasgow’s four matches to date, joining fellow Scotland internationals Jamie Bhatti and Zander Fagerson in the front-row.

Richie Gray continues in the second-row, with Sintu Manjezi coming in to partner the 2013 British and Irish Lion for his first start since the opening round trip to Benetton.

Scott Cummings shifts to the blindside in order to accommodate the inclusion of Manjezi, joining Thomas Gordon and last weekend’s Player of the Match, Matt Fagerson, in the back-row.

Behind the scrum, Ali Price is named to start at scrum-half, with Tom Jordan continuing in the number 10 shirt.

The midfield partnership is unchanged, meaning Sam Johnson continues at inside centre alongside Sione Tuipulotu, who retains the captaincy after leading the team to victory at Scotstoun last time out.

Smith’s return at full-back sees Josh McKay move to the wing, with Sebastian Cancelliere completing the starting lineup after a scintillating performance last weekend.

Two of Glasgow’s young stars are in line for their first action of the season after being named amongst the replacements, as tight-head Murphy Walker and fly-half Ross Thompson – room-mates in Durban – are selected for the first time in the 2022/23 campaign.

Oli Kebble returns to the matchday 23 after having to withdraw at late notice last weekend, with Fraser Brown completing the front-row cover by rotating to the bench.

Gregor Brown and George Horne similarly switch from the starting lineup to the replacements for this weekend’s clash, having both impressed in the victory over the Bulls last Saturday night.

JP du Preez continues on the bench for the fourth successive match, whilst the matchday squad is completed by the experienced figure of Ryan Wilson.

1. Jamie Bhatti (71)
2. George Turner (81)
3. Zander Fagerson (119)
4. Sintu Manjezi (4)
5. Richie Gray (87)
6. Scott Cummings (94)
7. Thomas Gordon (56)
8. Matt Fagerson (82)

9. Ali Price (115)
10. Tom Jordan (4)
11. Josh McKay (16)
12. Sam Johnson (95)
13. Sione Tuipulotu (C) (24)
14. Sebastian Cancelliere (13)
15. Ollie Smith (20)


16. Fraser Brown (126)
17. Oli Kebble (80)
18. Murphy Walker (6)
19. JP du Preez (3)
20. Ryan Wilson (215)
21. Gregor Brown (7)
22. George Horne (83)
23. Ross Thompson (37)

Unavailable for selection: Allan Dell (calf), Rory Darge (ankle), Jack Dempsey (rib), Huw Jones (back), Rufus McLean (hamstring), Ally Miller (back), Enrique Pieretto (shoulder), Kyle Steyn (hamstring) Duncan Weir (hamstring), Max Williamson (head).

Latest News