Ox Nche one of seven Sharks to make their debuts against the Bulls

Ox Nche one of seven Sharks to make their debuts against the Bulls

World Cup Winning centre Springbok centre Lukhanyo Am leads an exciting Sharks’ team in their opening Super Rugby clash with the Bulls at Jonsson Kings Park on Friday.

Making their run-on debuts are three forwards, loosehead prop Ox Nche, flank James Venter and eighthman Sikumbuzo Notshe who all made the move to Durban late last year. Le Roux Roets (lock) and Henco Venter (loose forward) – also new signings – together with local talents who performed in last year’s Currie Cup, scrumhalf Sanele Nohamba and flyhalf Boeta Chamberlain, play off the bench.

“There’s a strong vibe in the camp and we’re all looking forward to Super Rugby kicking off,” Cell C Sharks flyhalf Curwin Bosch admits.

Also check out Brian O'Driscoll's three players to watch in the Six Nations:

Continue reading below...

With Bosch settled in the number 10 jersey, he recognises this as an opportunity to entrench himself. “For me to grow in confidence at 10, I need game time there, that’s how a player gets better and I’m really looking forward to it.”

Opposite him is 35-year-old Springbok Morne Steyn who returns to Pretoria after a stint of French rugby and Bosch admits that Steyn will be an important factor for the men in blue.

“Morne brings a lot of experience to his side, they’ve lost quite a few players overseas and because he’s such a good kicker, we know our discipline and game management need to be really sharp this weekend.

“But we’re going into this weekend’s game with a plan and if we stick to it, the result will take care of itself.”

Sharks 23 to face the Bulls:

1. Ox Nche**
2. Kerron van Vuuren
3. Thomas du Toit
4. Ruben van Heerden
5. Hyron Andrews
6. James Venter**
7. Tyler Paul
8. Sikumbuzo Notshe**
9. Louis Schreuder
10. Curwin Bosch
11. Makazole Mapimpi
12. Andre Esterhuizen
13. Lukhanyo Am (c)
14. Sbu Nkosi
15. Aphelele Fassi

16. Craig Burden
17. Juan Schoeman
18. John-Hubert Meyer
19. Le Roux Roets*
20. Henco Venter**
21. Sanele Nohamba*
22. Boeta Chamberlain*
23. Jeremy Ward

*Denotes that these following players will be making their Vodacom Super Rugby debuts.

**Denotes that these players will be playing their first match in a Cell C Sharks jersey.


More News

Latest News