Premiership Rugby Cup Explained

Premiership Rugby Cup Explained

The Premiership Rugby Cup kicks off this weekend with all 12 teams in action in the new competition which has effectively replacing the Anglo-Welsh Cup.

The new format includes all 12 Premiership clubs in a format including a new Derby Day round.

There is an incentive with the winner of the competition winning a total prize money of more than half a million pounds.

The new competition will be played over four pool rounds, including the Derby Day, semi-finals and Final. 

The Premiership Rugby Cup will comprise three pools of four teams each and will kick off with the first two pool rounds starting on this weekend of October and the second two starting at the end of January.

One of the second two rounds will see Derby Day clashes for the 12 teams before the Cup moves into the knockout phase with the three pool winners and the best runner-up moving into the semi-finals.

The Final will be hosted by the highest seeded team. 

More News

Latest News