Queensland Reds squad named for 2023 Buildcorp Super W season

Queensland Reds squad named for 2023 Buildcorp Super W season

The Queensland Reds 2023 squad has been confirmed ahead of the 2023 Buildcorp Super W season.

Head coach Simon Craig has named a group that includes six capped Wallaroos, 18 previously capped Reds and 11 potential debutants who have emerged from Queensland Premier Rugby as well as the Queensland Country Orchids pathway, while three players from New Zealand have made the move to Queensland to be part of the Reds program.

Wallaroos and Queensland captain Shannon Parry returns to lead the side in 2023, joining fellow Wallaroos Bree-Anna Cheatham, Madi Shuck, Tiarna Molloy, Annabelle Codey, Cecilia Smith and Ivania Wong.

With Toowoomba product Briana Dascombe becoming the first player to emerge from the Queensland Country pathway to make her Super W debut for Queensland in 2022, she is this year joined by Megan Prinsloo from the Nambour Toads, who starred for the Queensland Country Orchids during their three-game series against Brisbane City North, East and West in 2022.

Three New Zealanders who have emerged from the Canterbury pathway – prop Nina Poletti, scrumhalf Diane Hiini and outside back Sam Curtis – have committed to Queensland for the 2023 Super W campaign, helping to add depth to the squad for the season ahead.

Other new comers in the forwards include lock Deni Ross, who has emerged through Wests Rugby Club and the Australian Defence Force Rugby system, hooker Miki Trbojevic who has made the move North from Sydney, Sunnybank Number 8 Joana Rabaka who has previous Super W experience with the Melbourne Rebels, as well as Easts product Haidee Head, who is also part of the Queensland Academy of Sport (QAS) Women’s 7s Academy.

In the backs, Gold Coast scrumhalf Terri-Anne Egan and Gympie centre Caitlyn Urwin join the squad, both having spent time as part of the QAS Women’s 7s squad, while Fijian flyer Heleina Young, who set the Queensland Premier Rugby Women’s competition alight in 2022 also joins the outside backs ranks.

There are still a number of positions to be confirmed ahead of Round 1 on 25 March, with final players to be announced ahead of the season opener against the Melbourne Rebels at AAMI Park.

FORWARDS Bree-Anna Cheatham – Wests, St Augustine’s College

Madi Schuck – Easts, Alexandra Hills SHS

Alapeta Ngauamo – GPS, St James College Brisbane

Theresa Soloai – Easts, Holland Park SHS

Nina Poletti – Brothers, New Plymouth Girls High, New Zealand

Tiarna Molloy – Easts, Warialda High School, NSW

Tazmin Sheppard - Bond Uni, Budehaven Community School, Cornwall UK

Miki Trbojevic – GPS, Freshwater Senior Campus, Sydney

Annabelle Codey – Easts, Somerville House

Deni Ross – Wests, Oak Hill College

Tina Campbell – GPS, St Hilda’s, Gold Coast

Joana Rabaka – Sunnybank, Nadi College, Fiji

Shannon Parry – Easts, Moreton Bay College

Hana Lane – Wests, West Island School, Hong Kong

Carola Kries - Bond University, Columneetza Seconday, Canada

Haidee Head – Easts, Lourdes Hill College

Megan Prinsloo - Nambour Toads, Coolum Beach SHS


Sarah Lewis – GPS, Xavier Catholic College, Hervey Bay

Terri-Anne Egan – Sunnybank, Marymount College, Gold Coast

Renae Nona – Sunnybank, Cavendish Road SHS

Cecilia Smith – Sunnybank, Leeton SHS, NSW

Dianne Hiini – Canterbury, TBC

Mel Wilks - Bond University, Beerwah SHS

Caitlyn Urwin – University of Queensland, St Patrick’s College, Gympie

Sam Curtis - College Rifles, Waimea College, New Zealand

Ivania Wong – Sunnybank, Balmoral SHS

Briana Dascombe – Wests, Fairholme College, Toowoomba

Heleina Young – GPS, St Joseph’s Secondary School, Suva, Fiji

Ellie Draper – Souths, Carmel College


Head Coach - Simon Craig, Easts

Asst Coach - Sione Fukofuka, Canterbury College

Asst Coach - Moses Rauluni, Easts

Development Coach - Felicity Goodwin, University of Queensland

Latest News