Rachel Malcolm to skipper Scotland for 2023 Women’s Six Nations

Rachel Malcolm to skipper Scotland for 2023 Women’s Six Nations

Rachel Malcolm will lead a Scotland squad which includes seven uncapped stars for the 2023 Women’s Six Nations.

Head coach Bryan Easson has named the flanker as captain for the third successive Championship, with Loughborough Lightning teammate Helen Nelson selected as vice-captain.

Among the seven newcomers are five players who have shone for The Thistles in the inaugural Celtic Challenge competition.

Forwards Erinn Foley and Emma Turner and backs Rhea Clarke, Francesca McGhie and Holly McIntyre have all prospered from game time against international calibre opposition and could make their debuts alongside Beth Blacklock and former Scotland U20s captain Fiona Cooper.


There are also a raft of more familiar names in the 36-player squad, including Allianz Premier 15s stalwarts Jade Konkel-Roberts and Louise McMillan.

Easson will be supported by Chris Laidlaw, who will take the reins as attack coach for the first time having previously served as the assistant coach for The Thistles and as the interim head coach of Scotland 7s.

The team will begin their campaign with a trip to Kingston Park to play holders England in Round 1 before a first home fixture against Wales.

They will then head to Vannes to play France after the fallow week before finishing with back-to-back home matches against Italy and Ireland.

Scotland squad for the 2023 TikTok Women’s Six Nations


Leah Bartlett (Loughborough Lightning)

Christine Belisle (Loughborough Lightning)

Sarah Bonar (Harlequins)

Elliann Clarke (University of Edinburgh)

Lisa Cockburn (University of Worcester Warriors)

Fiona Cooper (Wasps)

Eva Donaldson (University of Edinburgh)

Erinn Foley (Hillhead Jordanhill)

Evie Gallagher (University of Worcester Warriors)

Jade Konkel-Roberts (Harlequins)

Rachel Malcolm CAPTAIN (Loughborough Lightning)

Elis Martin (DMP Sharks)

Rachel McLachlan (Sale Sharks)

Louise McMillan (Saracens)

Panashe Muzambe (Exeter Chiefs)

Lyndsay O’Donnell (Bristol Bears)

Lana Skeldon (University of Worcester Warriors)

Emma Turner (Corstorphine Cougars)

Jodie Rettie (Saracens)

Emma Wassell (Loughborough Lightning)

Anne Young (Sale Sharks)

BACKS (15)

Beth Blacklock (Harlequins)

Rhea Clarke (University of Edinburgh)

Coreen Grant (Saracens)

Sarah Law (Sale Sharks)

Caity Mattinson (University of Worcester Warriors)

Mairi McDonald (Exeter Chiefs)

Francesca McGhie (Watsonians)

Holly McIntyre (University of Edinburgh)

Liz Musgrove (Wasps)

Helen Nelson VICE-CAPTAIN (Loughborough Lightning)

Emma Orr (Heriot’s / Biggar)

Chloe Rollie (Loughborough Lightning)

Eilidh Sinclair (Exeter Chiefs)

Meryl Smith (University of Edinburgh)

Evie Wills (Hillhead Jordanhill)

Players unavailable for selection through injury: Molly Wright, Jenny Maxwell.


Latest News