Rainbow Cup Round 5 Team Sheets - Saturday

Rainbow Cup Round 5 Team Sheets - Saturday

The teams for Saturday's Guinness PRO14 Rainbow Cup Round 5 fixtures have been confirmed and are listed below alongside live TV Broadcast information and Match Official listings.



  • British & Irish Lions callups Duhan van der Merwe and Hamish Watson start for Edinburgh who give full back Harry Paterson his debut
  • Ulster make seven changes to the team that faced Leinster in R3 with Ian Madigan starting at outhalf and Lions tour selection Iain Henderson remains as captain


  • Josh Turnbull captains a strong Cardiff Blues side but Dai Young has chosen to rotate scrumhalves with Lloyd Williams starting in place of Tomos Williams
  • Due to the numerous absences and to the many injured players, coach Bradley has opted for an Italian and young squad, with only Eduardo Bello as a foreign player and three permit players called up on the bench


  • Emirates Lions include key performers Rabz Maxwane, Jordan Hendrikse and Vincent Tshituka
  • Makazole Mapimpi returns to the Cell C Sharks line-up while Henco Venter captains the team and Siya Kolisi misses out


Saturday, June 5


Emirates Lions v Cell C Sharks – KO 16:00 SA / 15:00 UK

Emirates Lions Park, Johannesburg

Referee: Stu Berry (SARU, 32nd competition game)

Assistant Referees: Cwengile Jadezweni, Aimee Barrett-Theron (both SARU)

TMO: AJ Jacobs (SARU)

Live on eir Sport 2, Premier Sports 1, Super Sport (SA), ESPN+ (USA), pro14.tv.


Emirates Lions: EW Viljoen; Rabz Maxwane, Wandisile Simelane, Burger Odendaal (capt), Courtnall Skosan; Jordan Hendrikse, André Warner; Len Massyn, Vincent Tshituka, MJ Pelser; Reinhard Nothnagel, Ruben Schoeman, Carlu Sadie, Jaco Visagie, Sti Sithole.

Replacements: PJ Botha, Ruan Dreyer, Asenathi Ntlabakanye, Willem Alberts, Emmanuel Tshituka, Morné van den Berg, Fred Zeilinga, Dan Kriel

Cell C Sharks: Anthony Volmink, Yaw Penxe,Werner Kok, Marius Louw, Makazole Mapimpi, Manie Libbok, Jaden Hendrikse; Ntuthuko Mchunu, Kerron van Vuuren, Wiehahn Herbst, JJ van der Mescht,Hyron Andrews, James Venter, Henco Venter (CAPT), Phepsi Buthelezi.

Replacements: Fez Mbatha, Ox Nche, Thomas du Toit, Ruben van Heerden, Thembelani Bholi, Grant Williams, Boeta Chamberlain, Jeremy Ward.

Edinburgh v Ulster – KO 17:15

BT Murrayfield, Edinbrugh

Referee: Ben Whitehouse (WRU, 74th competition game)

Assistant Referees: Keith Allen, Ian Kenny (both SRU)

TMO: Neil Paterson (SRU)

Live on eir Sport 1, Premier Sports 1, Super Sport (SA), ESPN+ (USA), pro14.tv.


Edinbrugh: Harry Paterson, Eroni Sau, James Johnstone, George Taylor, Duhan van der Merwe, Blair Kinghorn, Charlie Shiel; Boan Venter, Patrick Harrison, WP Nel, Marshall Sykes, Ben Toolis, Jamie Ritchie (CAPT), Hamish Watson, Ben Muncaster.

Replacements: Mike Willemse, Pierre Schoeman, Simon Berghan, Mesu Kunavula, Harri Morris, Henry Pyrgos, Nathan Chamberlain, Cammy Hutchison.

Ulster: Rob Lyttle, Matt Faddes, James Hume, Stuart McCloskey, Craig Gilroy, Ian Madigan, David Shanahan; Kyle McCall, Adam McBurney, Marty Moore, Alan O’Connor, Iain Henderson (Capt.), Matty Rea, Marcus Rea, Nick Timoney.

Replacements: Rob Herring, Andrew Warwick, Tom O’Toole, Kieran Treadwell, Greg Jones, Alby Mathewson, Billy Burns, Michael Lowry.

Cardiff Blues v Zebre – KO 19:35

Cardiff Arms Park, Cardiff

Referee: Ben Blain (SRU, 11th competition game)

Assistant Referees: Dan Jones, Mike English (both WRU)

TMO: Ian Davies (WRU)

Live on S4C, eir Sport 2, Premier Sports 1, DAZN, Super Sport (SA), ESPN+ (USA), pro14.tv.

Cardiff Blues: Matthew Morgan; Jason Harries, Willis Halaholo, Ben Thomas, Dan Fish; Jarrod Evans, Lloyd Williams; Corey Domachowski, Liam Belcher, Dillon Lewis, Seb Davies, Cory Hill, James Botham, Gwilym Bradley, Josh Turnbull (CAPT)

Replacements: Kirby Myhill, Rhys Carré, Dmitri Arhip, Rory Thornton, Alun Lawrence, Tomos Williams, Harri Millard, Rey Lee-Lo

Zebre: Michelangelo Biondelli, Pierre Bruno, Federico Mori, Enrico Lucchin, Giovanni D’Onofrio, Carlo Canna;  . Daniele Rimpelli, Oliviero Fabiani, Eduardo Bello, Samuele Ortis, Leonard Krumov, Maxime Mbandà, Iacopo Bianchi, Renato Giammarioli.

Replacements: Marco Manfredi, Paolo Buonfiglio, Matteo Nocera, Cristian Stoian, Giovanni Licata, Nicolò Casilio, Jacopo Trulla, Filippo Di Marco.

Latest News