Reds announce Grand Final team against Brumbies

Reds announce Grand Final team against Brumbies

The Queensland Reds have made three changes to their starting XV for Saturday’s Super Rugby AU Grand Final against the Brumbies at Suncorp Stadium.

Queensland’s backline will be bolstered by the return of Jock Campbell who will start on the left wing, while Josh Flook will wear the number-13 jersey following a facial fracture to Hunter Paisami suffered in their Round 10 match against the Force.

In the forward pack, Ryan Smith has earned the opportunity to start at lock seeing the in-form Angus Scott-Young shift back to his preferred position at blindside flanker.

There are four changes to the Reds’ reserves, with Wallabies duo Liam Wright and Filipo Daugunu set to bring plenty of firepower as finishers this weekend.

Loosehead prop Dane Zander has been re-called into the 23, while Wests playmaker Isaac Henry could potentially make his Super Rugby debut off the bench.

Reds head coach Brad Thorn said: “Grand Final week – how good. This is why you play the game.

“We’re looking forward to a big game of rugby in front of a packed Suncorp Stadium. We’ve got a strong connection with our supporters – right across the state with our Reds to Regions visits and out to the local clubs. Our supporters are a big part of the reason why we’re there on Saturday night.

“The Brumbies are a tough opponent. They’re the defending premiers. They’ve been the competition benchmark now for a number of years. We’re expecting another a tough contest against them,” said Thorn

The Reds will be aiming for a record-equalling 11th straight win at Suncorp Stadium set back in 2010/2011, to remain unbeaten at home during the history of the Super Rugby AU competition.

Super Rugby AU Grand Final: St.George Queensland Reds v Brumbies – Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane on 8 May

1. Feao Fotuaika – Sunnybank
2. Brandon Paenga-Amosa – Sunnybank
3. Taniela Tupou – Brothers
4. Ryan Smith – Brothers
5. Lukhan Salakaia-Loto – Souths
6. Angus Scott-Young – University of Queensland
7. Fraser McReight – Brothers
8. Harry Wilson – Brothers
9. Tate McDermott – University of Queensland
10. James O’Connor – Brothers ©
11. Jock Campbell – University of Queensland
12. Hamish Stewart – Brothers
13. Josh Flook – Brothers
14. Jordan Petaia – Wests
15. Bryce Hegarty – GPS

16. Alex Mafi – Bond University
17. Dane Zander – Norths
18. Zane Nonggorr – Bond University
19. Seru Uru – Easts
20. Liam Wright – Easts
21. Kalani Thomas – University of Queensland
22. Isaac Henry* – Wests
23. Filipo Daugunu – Wests

*Denotes potential Super Rugby/Queensland debut

Latest News