Sam Cane returns for the Chiefs following neck break

Sam Cane returns for the Chiefs following neck break

The Chiefs have welcomed back franchise co-captain Sam Cane ahead of their Super Rugby clash with the Blues at Eden Park on Saturday.

Cane last played against the Springboks in October last year and has successfully returned to action and has been named on the bench in jersey number 20, Cane will take the field for the first time this Super Rugby season.

Brad Weber will continue to captain the side from halfback. Angus Ta’avao will start at tighthead in his 100th Super Rugby match, shifting Nepo Laulala to the bench.

A new locking combination of Jesse Parete and Mitchell Brown will take the field, with Tyler Ardron back to number eight. Pita Gus Sowakula will start at six in place of Luke Jacobson who sustained a head knock at training. 

Again Cooper has named an unchanged backline from the side that took the field against the Sharks in Hamilton. 

Joining Cane on the reserves bench, loosehead prop Aidan Ross returns from his neck injury and Waikato loose forward Mitchell Jacobson will be hoping to make his Super Rugby debut for the Chiefs in jersey number 19.

Head coach Colin Cooper said: “It is always a great rivalry between us and the Blues. We expect another brutal encounter again this weekend. They have some great attacking ability among their team. We will need to continue to build on our performance against the Sharks.”

1. Atu Moli (33)
2. Nathan Harris(54)
3. Angus Ta’avao (28)
4. Jesse Parete (19)
5. Mitchell Brown (32)
6. Pita Gus Sowakula (10)
7. Mitchell Karpik (18)
8. Tyler Ardron (21)
9. Brad Weber (67) (c)
10. Marty McKenzie (26)
11. Etene Nanai-Seturo (9)
12. Anton Lienert-Brown (65)
13. Tumua Manu (11)
14. Sean Wainui (23)
15. Solomon Alaimalo (33)

16. Liam Polwart (25)
17. Aidan Ross (20)
18. Nepo Laulala (27)
19. Mitchell Jacobson**
20. Sam Cane (106)
21. Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi (27)
22. Shaun Stevenson (39)
23. Alex Nankivell (18)

More News

Latest News