Scarlets hand debuts to Lloyd and Plumtree for Baabaas clash

Scarlets hand debuts to Lloyd and Plumtree for Baabaas clash

Ioan Lloyd and Taine Plumtree will make their Scarlets debuts in Saturday’s clash with the Barbarians in the Phil Bennett Memorial Match (2.30pm ko).

Lloyd, who has made the move from Bristol Bears, will wear the No. 10 jersey at Parc y Scarlets, while summer arrival Plumtree – capped by Wales last month – slots in at blindside flanker.

The side to take on the Baabaas contains an exciting mix of young talent and experience, with the squad boasting nine senior Wales internationals.

Johnny McNicholl, Tom Rogers and Ryan Conbeer make up a potent back three. Steff Evans is recovering from a hamstring injury so misses out.

In midfield, Jonathan Davies leads the side from inside centre and partners Ioan Nicholas. New Wales cap Joe Roberts has had a ‘clear out’ of his knee since returning from national camp and will be out for a few weeks. Scott Williams is also sidelined.

To complete a free-running back division, Lloyd will partner another Wales international, Kieran Hardy, at half-back.

Up front, Wyn Jones, Shaun Evans and Sam Wainwright pack down in the front row, while former Wales U20s duo Jac Price and Morgan Jones are reunited at lock.

Plumtree starts at six, Dan Davis at seven and Ben Williams wears the No. 8 jersey. Williams had an outstanding campaign for Llanelli RFC in the Welsh Premiership last season and featured for the Scarlets as a replacement against Edinburgh in the URC and in a friendly against Saracens.

There is an extended 11-man bench named for this game and includes another couple of players set to make their Scarlets debuts – second row Ed Scragg and back-rower Teddy Leatherbarrow.

Scarlets team to play Barbarians (Parc y Scarlets, Saturday, September 16, 2.30pm ko)

15 Johnny McNicholl; 14 Tom Rogers, 13 Ioan Nicholas, 12 Jonathan Davies (capt), 11 Ryan Conbeer; 10 Ioan Lloyd, 9 Kieran Hardy; 1 Wyn Jones, 2 Shaun Evans, 3 Sam Wainwright, 4 Jac Price, 5 Morgan Jones, 6 Taine Plumtree, 7 Dan Davis, 8 Ben Williams

Reps: 16 Lewis Morgan, 17 Kemsley Mathias, 18 Steff Thomas, 19 Harri O’Connor, 20 Ed Scragg, 21 Iwan Shenton, 22 Teddy Leatherbarrow, 23 Archie Hughes, 24 Dan Jones, 25 Eddie James, 26 Tomi Lewis.

Latest News