Sharks announce their team for final URC fixture before EPCR

Sharks announce their team for final URC fixture before EPCR

This week’s United Rugby Championship clash against the Vodacom Bulls in Pretoria on Saturday is all about momentum for the Sharks.

After the return of the Rugby World Cup winning Springboks last week, the Hollywoodbets Sharks put in their most decisive performance of the tournament, even though head coach John Plumtree had warned before the match that his returning Boks might be a little rusty after the break they had enjoyed following their heroics in the Green and Gold.

There was little evidence that the Boks were nursing any ill-effects and they were influential in a performance where everyone performed with distinction.

The Bulls will be a different prospect though and as Plumtree suggested, his national players would be all the better this week after a match for the Hollywoodbets Sharks.

It doesn’t hurt to name an almost unchanged line-up, with only one change this week where Aphiwe Dyantyi comes in for Werner Kok (who has a slight hamstring niggle) on the wing. The rest of the match 22 remains identical to the team that beat the Dragons at Hollywoodbets Kings Park last Saturday.

With the tournament now settled as far as full strength teams go – aside from injuries – week seven offers a huge challenge, but also an exciting time. 

These two teams have a long, proud and highly competitive history and there is no doubt that this game will be played with passion and determination.

1. Ntuthuko Mchunu
2. Fez Mbatha
3. Coenie Oosthuizen
4. Eben Etzebeth
5. Emile van Heerden
6. James Venter
7. Phepsi Buthelezi
8. Sikhumbuzo Notshe
9. Jaden Hendrikse
10. Curwin Bosch
11. Makazole Mapimpi
12. Francois Venter 
13. Lukhanyo Am (c)
14. Aphiwe Dyantyi
15. Aphelele Fassi

16. Daniel Jooste
17. Ox Nche
18. Hanro Jacobs
19. Corne Rahl
20. Jeandre (Lappies) Labuschagne
21. Grant Williams
22. Boeta Chamberlain
23. Rohan Janse van Rensburg

Players not available for selection due to injury or suspension:

•    Bongi Mbonambi 
•    Dylan Richardson (Thumb surgery)
•    Eduan Keyter
•    Francois Hougaard 
•    George Cronje (suspension)
•    Gerbrandt Grobler
•    Hyron Andrews (suspension)
•    Kerron van Vuuren 
•    Muller du Plessis 
•    Nevaldo Fleurs 
•    Reniel Hugo 
•    Vincent Koch 
•    Vincent Tshituka 
•    Werner Kok

Latest News