Sharks centre cited for off the ball tackle

Sharks centre cited for off the ball tackle

Sharks centre Marius Louw has been cited for an off the ball tackle on Tom English that saw he receive a yellow card in the Sharks win over the Rebels on Saturday.


Louw is alleged to have contravened Law 9.11: Players must not do anything that is reckless or dangerous to others and Law 9.13: A player must not tackle an opponent early, late or dangerously. during the match between the Sharks and Rebels at Jonnsson Kings Park in Durban on 23 March 2019.



Upon further review of the match footage, the Citing Commissioner deemed in his opinion the incident had met the Red Card threshold for foul play.

The Case is to be considered in the first instance by the SANZAAR Foul Play Review Committee which will take place on Monday 25 March 2019, 8am(SAST), 5pm(AEDT), 7pm(NZDT) via video-conference.

 Image Credit: Fox Sports

More News

Latest News