Taute & Keatley extend Munster contracts, while Ryan and Saili depart

Taute & Keatley extend Munster contracts, while Ryan and Saili depart

Munster Rugby and the IRFU can confirm that Ian Keatley and Jaco Taute have both signed contract extensions at Munster, while a number of players are set to depart the province at the end of the season, including Donnacha Ryan and Francis Saili.

Ian Keatley,33, has been with the province since making his debut against Newport Gwent Dragons in September 2011 and make his 150th appearance against Connacht.

Springbok Jaco Taute has signed a two-year deal that will see him remain with Munster until June 2019. Initially arriving on a loan basis from the Stormers and Western Province, the centre has lined out for the province on 24 occasions since arriving in, scoring 8 tries.
On the departure front Munster’s most capped player of the current squad, Donnacha Ryan, will make the move to Top 14 side Racing 92 at the end of the season.  The 33-year-old has made 165 appearances since making his debut against Ospreys in September 2004.  The Nenagh-man enjoyed Heineken Cup and Magners League success over a 13-year-career in the red jersey and was awarded Munster’s Player of the Year in 2012.
Francis Saili, Peter McCabe and John Madigan are also set to depart at the end of the season with the trio all moving on to other clubs, while Cian Bohane and Mark Chisholm have both confirmed their are to retirement.

Saili has made 38 appearances over two seasons, scoring 8 tries, while Bohane most recently captained Munster A in their British and Irish Cup success, with Chisholm, McCabe and Madigan all playing their part in the winning campaign.

More News

Latest News