Team News: Chiefs lose Anton Lienert-Brown to concussion

Team News: Chiefs lose Anton Lienert-Brown to concussion

Damian McKenzie will start in his 80th Chiefs cap against the Hurricanes on Sunday but will do so without fellow All Black Anton Lienert-Brown who has been side-lined with a concussion.

The Gallagher Chiefs return home to face the Hurricanes at FMG Stadium Waikato on Sunday 5 July in their second-afternoon fixture of Super Rugby Aotearoa with Chiefs Head Coach Warren Gatland making five changes and one positional change to his twenty-three for the derby clash.

Following a credible performance against the Crusaders last week, Gatland has named an unchanged forward pack. However, injury has forced Gatland’s hand to make changes to the side’s backline. Anton Lienert-Brown has been side-lined with concussion. Rookie Quinn Tupaea shifts into second five-eighth with Tumua Manu moving into the starting line-up at centre.

Electrifying fullback Damian McKenzie will run out for his 80th game in the Chiefs jersey. In the reserves, young lock Tupou Vaa’i and rookie loose forward Dylan Nel return to the twenty-three in the only two changes to the replacement forwards. After running out for Rotoiti Rugby Club last weekend, experienced halfback Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi returns to the twenty-three and is joined by fellow Bay of Plenty teammate Kaleb Trask. Waikato’s Solomon Alaimalo completes the line-up in jersey twenty-three.

1. Aidan Ross (34)
2. Bradley Slater (10)
3. Nepo Laulala (36)
4. Mitchell Brown (40)
5. Naitoa Ah Kuoi (9)
6. Lachlan Boshier (52)
7. Sam Cane (117) ©
8. Pita Gus Sowakula (23)
9. Brad Weber (80)
10. Aaron Cruden (97)
11. Etene Nanai-Seturo (13)
12. Quinn Tupaea (7)
13. Tumua Manu (19)
14. Sean Wainui (33)
15. Damian McKenzie (79)

16. Samisoni Taukei’aho (31)
17. Reuben O’Neill (6)
18. Ross Geldenhuys (8)
19. Tupou Vaa’i (2)
20. Dylan Nel (3)
21. Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi (36)
22. Kaleb Trask (5)
23. Solomon Alaimalo (44)

() = Gallagher Chiefs caps in brackets
*denotes Gallagher Chiefs debut
**denotes Investec Super Rugby debut

Unavailable for selection:
Angus Ta’avao (quad), Mitchell Karpik (concussion), Anton Lienert-Brown (concussion)
Season ending: Atu Moli (hips), Laghlan McWhannell (knee), Luke Jacobson (hand), Michael Allardice (shoulder), Nathan Harris (shoulder), Ryan Coxon (thumb), Sam McNicol (ankle).

More News

Latest News