The 2024 Currie Cup kicks off this Friday

The 2024 Currie Cup kicks off this Friday

The Currie Cup is one of the oldest rugby competitions in the world, with the first games played in 1889, but it was only in 1892 that it became officially known as the Currie Cup. The original participating unions were Western Province, Griqualand West, Transvaal and Eastern Province. The first tournament was held in Kimberley and was won by Western Province. The Currie Cup trophy was donated to South Africa in 1891 by the touring British Isles team - it was given to the tourists by Sir Donald Currie, owner of Union-Castle Lines, the shipping company that transported them to the southern tip of Africa. Sir Donald was clear with his instructions – hand this trophy over to the team in South Africa that gives you the best game. After a spirited display where the unbeaten British Lions narrowly won 3-0, Griqualand West became the first ever holders of the Currie Cup.

The participating teams in 2024









 Last 5 champions



2020/2021-Blue Bulls



Records and Stats

Most Career matches

165- Hugh Reece-Edwards (Sharks)

156-Jacques Botes (Pumas/Sharks)

Most career points

1699-Naas Botha (Bulls)

1412-Willem de Waal (Leopards/Cheetahs/WP)

Most career tries

74-John Daniels (Lions/Boland)

66-Breyton Paulse (WP)

Most individual tries in a season

21-Bjorn Basson (Griquas)

19-Carel du Plessis (WP)

Most points in a match

46-Jannie de Beer (v Free State in 1997)

Upcoming fixtures (Round 1)

Friday 5 July

Griquas v Pumas

Sharks v Lions

Saturday 6 July

Cheetahs v Griffons

Sunday 7 July

WP v Blue Bulls

More info in our app

Latest News