The Baabaas team that beat an England side featuring Andy Goode in 2009

The Baabaas team that beat an England side featuring Andy Goode in 2009

In 2009, Martin Corry and Josh Lewsey bade a victorious farewell to English rugby at Twickenham with the Barbarians as they held on for victory despite a late England comeback.

Martin Johnson's youthful England side shipped five tries with former red rose winger Iain Balshaw dotting down for a brace as they were outclassed for much of the game by a Barbarians team boasting seven former All Blacks and a total of 632 international caps.

Corry and Lewsey were key figures as the Barbarians opened a 14-0 lead with tries from Balshaw and Chris Jack before Ben Foden - one of six players making his first senior England start - produced a strong finish to score in the corner.

The Barbarians surged clear after the interval with embarrassing ease as Rocky Elsom and Gordon D'Arcy touched down either side of Balshaw's second try.

Jordan Turner-Hall, Tom May and Matt Banahan notched debut tries as the Barbarians wilted and England hit back in the closing stages to avoid a record defeat and regain some pride. 

The line ups on the day:

England: D Armitage (London Irish); B Foden (Northampton), J Noon (Newcastle), J Turner-Hall (Harlequins), M Banahan (Bath); A Goode (Brive), D Care (Harlequins); T Payne (Wasps), D Hartley (Northampton), D Wilson (Newcastle), S Borthwick (Saracens, capt), L Deacon (Leicester), C Robshaw (Harlequins), L Moody (Leicester), N Easter (Harlequins).

Replacements: S Thompson (Brive), N Wood (Gloucester), C Jones (Sale Sharks), S Armitage (London Irish), J Haskell (Wasps), P Hodgson (London Irish), T May (Newcastle)

Barbarians: Ben Blair (Cardiff Blues & New Zealand), Doug Howlett (Munster & New Zealand), Josh Lewsey (London Wasps & England), Gordon D'Arcy (Leinster & Ireland), Iain Balshaw (Gloucester Rugby & England), Glen Jackson (Saracens), Justin Marshall (Saracens & New Zealand), Clarke Dermody (London Irish & New Zealand), Schalk Brits (Stormers & South Africa), Greg Somerville (Gloucester Rugby & New Zealand), Martin Corry (Leicester Tigers & England, capt), Chris Jack (Saracens & New Zealand), Jerry Collins (Toulon & New Zealand), Serge Betsen (London Wasps & France), Rocky Elsom (Leinster & Australia)

Replacements: Sebastien Bruno (Sale Sharks & France), B J Botha (Ulster & South Africa), Paul Tito (Cardiff Blues), Phil Waugh (Waratahs & Australia), Chris Whitaker (Leinster & Australia), Mike Catt (London Irish & England), Ratu Nasiganiyavi (Waratahs)

More News

Latest News