Vermeulen hits 50 as the Springboks name team to face the All Blacks

Vermeulen hits 50 as the Springboks name team to face the All Blacks

Springbok coach Rassie Erasmus has named an unchanged matchday 23 for their first World Cup match against the All Blacks in Yokohama on Saturday.

The Springboks will field an unchanged 23 for the first time since the last Rugby World Cup.

View this post on Instagram

Rassie Erasmus has named an unchanged side to face the All Blacks on Saturday #RWC2019 #NZLvRSA

A post shared by Ultimate Rugby (@ultimaterugby) on

Rassie Erasmus, director of rugby, on Wednesday named the same starting XV and eight replacements that defeated Japan, 41-7, in Kumagaya two weeks ago for the eagerly awaited clash against New Zealand, saying the Boks have found "some consistency and some momentum in a number of ways this season".

No 8 Duane Vermeulen will be appearing in his 50th Test as one of 22 players who will, in fact, be appearing in their fourth match together this season.

The combination also fought to a 16-16 draw with the same opposition in Wellington before beating Argentina, 46-13, in Salta on their way to the Castle Lager Rugby Championship. The one exception is fit-again captain Siya Kolisi, who replaced Kwagga Smith to lead the side out against Japan.

The last time South Africa named an unchanged 23 was 51 matches ago – against New Zealand in the 2015 Rugby World Cup semi-final. The combination had beaten Wales 23-19 in the quarter-final, only to lose at Twickenham by two points a week later.

Vermeulen, who made his debut in 2012, will win his 50th cap in a starting XV with three other half-centurions (Willie le Roux, Pieter-Steph du Toit and Eben Etzebeth) while there are a further three on the bench (Beast Mtawarira, Francois Louw and Frans Steyn).

Only three of the starting XV have played fewer than 25 tests (Cheslin Kolbe, Lukhanyo Am and Makazole Mapimpi) while only replacement scrumhalf Herschel Jantjies was not capped before this season.

This is the fifth meeting between the teams at the Rugby World Cup. The Springboks won the 1995 final and 1999 bronze medal match while New Zealand took the 2003 quarter-final and 2015 semi-final.

Apart from New Zealand’s comfortable 29-9 win in Melbourne in 2003, the margin of victory in the other three matches was by four points or fewer. Similarly, the last four matches in the Castle Lager Rugby Championship between these teams has been decided by two points or fewer.


The Springbok team to play New Zealand in Yokohama:

More News

Latest News