Welsh Derby Line Ups Confirmed

Welsh Derby Line Ups Confirmed

The teams for Friday's Welsh Derbies have now been named and are listed below alongside Team Headlines, Match Official appointments and Live TV Broadcast information.



  • Prop Wyn Jones to reach a century of Scarlets appearances
  • Scarlets feature an all-new back row trio of Blade Thomson, Sione Kalamafoni and Dan Davis
  • Wales internationals Nick Tompkins and Leon Brown return to Dragons’ starting line-up
  • Jack Dixon set to make his 100th cap for Dragons


  • Josh Adams named in a dangerous backline alongside Hallam Amos, Rey Lee-Lo and Aled Summerhill
  • Jason Tovey (990) could surpass 1000 points in the Guinness PRO14
  • Ospreys include four British  & Irish Lions in their starting XV: George North Rhys Webb Dan Lydiate and Justin Tipuric


Friday, January 1


Scarlets v Dragons – KO 17:15

Parc y Scarlets, Llanelli

Referee: Nigel Owens (WRU, 187th competition game)

Assistant Referees: Adam Jones, Gwyn Morris (both WRU)

TMO: Wayne Davies (WRU)

Live on Premier Sports 1, eir Sport 1, S4C, Super Sport, ESPN+ (USA) pro14.tv.

Scarlets: Angus O’Brien; Tom Prydie, Tyler Morgan, Steff Hughes (CAPT), Steff Evans; Dan Jones, Kieran Hardy; Wyn Jones, Ryan Elias, Javan Sebastian, Jake Ball, Sam Lousi, Blade Thomson, Dan Davis, Sione Kalamafoni.

Replacements: Marc Jones, Phil Price, Pieter Scholtz, Tevita Ratuva, Ed Kennedy, Gareth Davies, Sam Costelow, Paul Asquith.

Dragons: Jonah Holmes, Owen Jenkins, Nick Tompkins, Jack Dixon, Ashton Hewitt, Josh Lewis, Tavis Knoyle; Brok Harris, Elliot Dee, Leon Brown, Ben Carter, Matthew Screech, Harrison Keddie (CAPT), Taine Basham, Aaron Wainwright.

Replacements: Richard Hibbard, Aaron Jarvis, Lloyd Fairbrother, Joe Davies, Huw Taylor, Rhodri Williams, Aneurin Owen, Evan Lloyd.

Cardiff Blues v Ospreys – KO 19:35

Cardiff City Stadium, Cardiff

Referee: Ben Whitehouse (WRU, 70th competition game)

Assistant Referees: Craig Evans, Dan Jones (both WRU)

TMO: Rhys Thomas (WRU)

Live on Premier Sports 1, eir Sport 1, Super Sport, ESPN+ (USA) pro14.tv

Deferred: S4C 22:05


Cardiff Blues: Hallam Amos, Josh Adams, Rey Lee-Lo, Garyn Smith, Aled Summerhill, Jason Tovey, Tomos Williams, Rhys Carre, Kristian Dacey, Dimitri Arhip, Seb Davies, Rory Thornton, Shane Lewis-Hughes, James Botham, Josh Turnbull.


Replacements: Liam Belcher, Corey Dmachowski, Kieron Assiratti, James Ratti, Alun Lawrence, Lloyd Williams, Luke Scully, Willis Halaholo.

Ospreys: Dan Evans, George North, Scott Williams, Keiran Williams, Luke Morgan, Stephen Myler, Rhys Webb, Rhodri Jones, Ifan Phillips, Ma’afu Fia, Adam Beard, Rhys Davies, Dan Lydiate, Justin Tipuric (CAPT), Sam Cross.

Replacements: Scott Otten, Nicky Smith, Tom Botha, Lloyd Ashley, Will Griffiths, Reuben Morgan-Williams, Tiaan Thomas Wheeler, Mat Protheroe.

Head coach John Mulvihill said“It wasn’t the prettiest of wins last week, but it was a real tough, gritty contest and we can come away with confidence after winning that arm-wrestle and sealing the victory.


“We’re really looking forward to going out on a quality surface at Cardiff City Stadium and hopefully better weather conditions will make it a more open and entertaining spectacle for everyone.


“This week, we’ve looked back at some games where we’ve really shown our attacking identity, and we want to channel that.


Latest News