5 uncapped players named in Wales' 35-player squad for the Autumn Nations Series

5 uncapped players named in Wales' 35-player squad for the Autumn Nations Series

Wales men’s head coach Wayne Pivac has named a 35-player squad for the 2022 Autumn Nations Series.


Leigh Halfpenny, Ken Owens and Justin Tipuric are back for international duty more than a year after they last appeared for their country.

Other familiar faces returning to the Wales squad this autumn are Jac Morgan (Ospreys) and Rhys Priestland (Cardiff Rugby) who were last called up for the 2022 Guinness Six Nations; loosehead props Rhodri Jones (Dragons) and Nicky Smith (Ospreys) who feature for the first time since the 2021 summer campaign and Exeter Chiefs’ Christ Tshiunza, who made his senior international debut last November.

There are five uncapped players selected. After helping Wales reach the final of the U20 Summer Series in July alongside Tshiunza, Joe Hawkins (Ospreys) receives his first senior international call up.

Also named in the Wales men’s squad for the first time are Rio Dyer (Dragons) as well as Dane Blacker and Sam Costelow (both Scarlets). Josh Macleod is also included after previously being selected in the 2020 Autumn Nations Series and 2021 Guinness Six Nations squads.

Wales’ Autumn Nations Series kicks off at 15:15h on Saturday 5 November against the All Blacks in the 37th meeting between the two sides.

Argentina is next up the following Saturday (12 November) at 17:30h. The Pumas are back after two visits to Principality Stadium last July, with more fans able to watch the action this time around following capped attendances in 2021 due to Covid.

The third round of the series sees Georgia return to Cardiff on Saturday 19 November for the first time since 2017, after the last meeting between the two sides was moved to Parc y Scarlets when the Principality Stadium became a field hospital in 2020. This fixture has entertained Welsh crowds on three previous occasions in total, including at Rugby World Cup 2019 in Japan.

The final match and climax of the 2022 Autumn Nations Series sees Wales and Australia compete for the James Bevan trophy on Saturday 26th November.


Forwards (20)

Rhodri Jones (Dragons – 21 caps)
Nicky Smith (Ospreys – 41 caps)
Gareth Thomas (Ospreys – 13 caps)
Ryan Elias (Scarlets – 30 caps)
Dewi Lake (Ospreys – 8 caps)
Ken Owens (Scarlets – 87 caps)
Tomas Francis (Ospreys – 65 caps)
Dillon Lewis (Cardiff Rugby – 41 caps)
Sam Wainwright (Saracens – 2 caps)
Adam Beard (Ospreys – 37 caps)
Ben Carter (Dragons Rugby – 6 caps)
Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys 153 caps)
Will Rowlands (Dragons Rugby – 21 caps)
Taulupe Faletau (Cardiff Rugby – 91 caps)
Dan Lydiate (Ospreys – 68 caps)
Josh MacLeod (Scarlets – uncapped)
Jac Morgan (Ospreys – 3 caps)
Tommy Reffell (Leicester Tigers – 3 caps)
Justin Tipuric (Ospreys – 86 caps)
Christ Tshiunza (Exeter Chiefs – 2 caps)

Backs (15)

Dane Blacker (Scarlets – uncapped)
Kieran Hardy (Scarlets – 14 caps)
Tomos Williams (Cardiff Rugby – 36 caps)
Gareth Anscombe (Ospreys – 32 caps)
Sam Costelow (Scarlets – uncapped)
Rhys Priestland (Cardiff Rugby – 52 caps)
Joe Hawkins – (Ospreys uncapped)
George North (Ospreys – 105 caps)
Nick Tompkins (Saracens – 23 caps)
Owen Watkin (Ospreys – 33 caps)
Josh Adams – (Cardiff Rugby – 42 caps)
Alex Cuthbert (Ospreys – 52 caps)
Rio Dyer (Dragons Rugby – uncapped)
Leigh Halfpenny (Scarlets – 96 caps)
Louis Rees-Zammit (Gloucester Rugby – 19 caps)

Players unavailable for selection due to injury: Taine Basham, Dan Biggar, Leon Brown, Seb Davies, Wyn Jones, Josh Navidi, Johnny Williams, Liam Williams


All Live on Amazon Prime with Welsh and English language broadcasts

Saturday 5 November: Wales v New Zealand
Principality Stadium KO 15:15 GMT

Saturday 12 November: Wales v Argentina
Principality Stadium KO 17:30 GMT

Saturday 19 November: Wales v Georgia
Principality Stadium KO 13:00 GMT

Saturday 26 November: Wales v Australia
Principality Stadium KO 15:15 GMT

Latest News