Bristol Bears Duo Set For Third-Place Play-Off vs Junior Springboks

Bristol Bears Duo Set For Third-Place Play-Off vs Junior Springboks

Joe Jenkins and Jimmy Halliwell have been named in the England U20 squad to take on South Africa U20 in the 3rd place play-off fixture in the World Rugby U20 Championship.

The match kicks off at 15:30 BST on Friday, 14 July at Athlone Sports Stadium, Cape Town.

Asher Opoku-Fordjour, Craig Wright and Afolabi Fasogbon are confirmed as the front row, with Joe Bailey, who has joined the squad as an injury replacement, partnering captain Lewis Chessum in the second row.

Chandler Cunningham-South, Nathan Michelow and Zach Carr combine to form the back row.

Nye Thomas and Connor Slevin are the halfback duo, and Rekeiti Ma’asi-White joins Joe Jenkins in the centres.

Alex Wills and Cassius Cleaves are the two wings, with Sam Harris completing the line-up from fullback.

The match against South Africa is the fifth and final of England’s campaign, with a full playing schedule available on the World Rugby website. 

Mapletoft said: “This is the last opportunity for this group to take to the field together, and I know they can’t wait to give it their all.

“This has been a fantastic learning opportunity for this talented bunch of players, and I’m sure the experience will put them in good stead for the future.

“Going up against the hosts on Friday will be a challenge, but I have confidence in the players to put in a performance that they can be proud of.” 

England U20:   
15 Sam Harris (Bath Rugby)   
14 Cassius Cleaves (Harlequins)  
13 Joe Jenkins (Bristol Bears)   
12 Rekeiti Ma’asi-White  (Sale Sharks) 
11 Alex Wills (Sale Sharks)  
10 Connor Slevin (Harlequins)  
9 Nye Thomas (Sale Sharks) 
1 Asher Opoku-Fordjour (Sale Sharks) 
2 Craig Wright (Northampton Saints) 
3 Afolabi Fasogbon (Gloucester Rugby)   
4 Joe Bailey (Exeter) * 
5 Lewis Chessum (C) (Leicester Tigers)   
6 Chandler Cunningham-South (Harlequins)  
7 Nathan Michelow (Saracens)   
8 Zach Carr (Harlequins) 

16 Nathan Jibulu (Harlequins) 
17 Ethan Clarke (Harlequins) 
18 James Halliwell (Bristol Bears)   
19 Finn Carnduff (Leicester Tigers)   
20 Tristan Woodman (Sale Sharks)   
21 Charlie Bracken (Saracens)  
22 Louie Johnson (Newcastle)  
23 Joseph Woodward (Leicester Tigers) 

* Uncapped England U20 (note: matches during the recent tour of Georgia were friendlies and therefore not capped) 

Latest News