Cape Town 7's Pools

Cape Town 7's Pools

The two South African Sevens teams will both face the USA on the opening day of the HSBC SVNS Cape Town next Saturday, with the pools announced shortly after the Springbok Sevens team claimed a fifth consecutive title in Dubai on Sunday evening.


The Blitzboks, who beat Argentina 12-7 in the Dubai final, will run out in the Mother City as the top seeds for the tournament in Pool A, with Ireland, USA and Great Britain their opponents in what promises to be an action-packed day of sevens rugby at DHL Stadium.


In the men’s competition, Dubai runners up Argentina will face Fiji, France and Spain in Pool B, while defending champions Samoa will face old foes, New Zealand, as well as Australia and Canada in Pool C.


The Springbok Women's Sevens finished in a commendable 10th position in Dubai after being pipped by Japan in the 9th place final. They will face France, Canada and the USA in Pool C, in what will be a daunting day for the home side.


France and Canada were losing semi-finalists in Dubai and USA made it into the last eight, where they were knocked out by eventual winners, Australia.


Their pool opponents aside, Springbok Women's Sevens forward Rights Mkhari made a call to arms to their supporters to come and support the two home teams.


“We have always played here courtesy of being the hosts, but this time around, we will compete as a core team in the 2024 HSBC SVNS and that makes a huge difference to us,” said Mkhari.


“Our own event will not be a once off opportunity for us and we will come into this as best prepared as we have ever been.


“We are also going to be very competitive, we showed that in Dubai this weekend. Imagine having a huge crowd supporting us in Cape Town. I am calling on all to come and support us, it will mean so much for our squad.”


HSBC SVNS Cape Town pools – Women:

Pool A: Australia, Fiji, Japan, Spain

Pool B: New Zealand, Ireland, Brazil, Great Britain

Pool C: France, Canada, USA, South Africa


HSBC SVNS Cape Town pools – Men:

Pool A: South Africa, Ireland, USA, Great Britain

Pool B: Argentina, Fiji, France, Spain

Pool C: New Zealand, Samoa, Australia, Canada

Latest News