Match Preview: Munster v Dragons RFC

Match Preview: Munster v Dragons RFC

Reigning champions Munster have made seven changes to the side that drew with Benetton out in Italy last week, with summer signings Alex Nankivell and Seán O’Brien making their first starts in the back division, while returning Ireland international Jack Crowley is among the replacements.

On the injury front, fly-half Joey Carbery is to undergo surgery on the wrist he damaged in Treviso. The Dragons warmed up for their trip to Cork by training against Wales who were, in turn, preparing for their meeting with the Barbarians.

Reflecting on the run through at the Principality Stadium, coach Dai Flanagan: “It was a great opportunity to have a combined session. It was really worthwhile.
“The intensity Wales bring gave us a challenge ready for going to Munster. The biggest learning was just how quick they move things. It was a chance to feel the speed before going out to Cork. It was great for us because we will be better for it.”

The Dragons head into the meeting with the title holders having suffered successive home defeats to Edinburgh and Cardiff.

“There is a real hurt in the group,” said Flanagan. “It shows how much every individual here cares about the place, cares about each other and cares about the outcomes.”

The visitors show no fewer than ten changes for the Musgrave Park contest, with Wales World Cup back row Taine Basham coming in at No 8, while prop Luke Yendle and flanker Ryan Woodman are handed first starts.

Munster v Dragons RFC

Musgrave Park, Cork – KO 17.15 IRE & UK / 18.15 ITA / 19.15 SA

Referee: Sam Grove-White (SRU, 36th league game)

AR 1:  Dan Carson (IRFU) AR 2: Sam Holt (IRFU)

TMO: Mike Adamson (SRU)

Live on: RTÉ, S4C, Viaplay, Premier Sports, SuperSport, Flo Rugby &

Munster:  Shane Daly; Seán O'Brien, Alex Nankivell, Rory Scannell, Calvin Nash; Tony Butler, Craig Casey; Kieran Ryan, Diarmuid Barron, John Ryan; Edwin Edogbo, Tom Ahern; Jack O'Donoghue (CAPT), Alex Kendellen, Gavin Coombes.

Replacements: Scott Buckley, Mark Donnelly, Stephen Archer, Ruadhán Quinn, Brian Gleeson, Paddy Patterson, Jack Crowley, Ben O'Connor.

Dragons RFC: Dragons RFC: Angus O’Brien, Corey Baldwin, Steff Hughes (CAPT), Jack Dixon, Ashton Hewitt, Will Reed, Rhodri Williams; Rhodri Jones, Bradley Roberts, Luke Yendle, Joe Davies, George Nott, Ryan Woodman, James Benjamin, Taine Basham

Replacements:  Brodie Coghlan, Aki Seiuli, Nathan Evans, Barney Langton-Cryer, George Young, Dane Blacker, Aneurin Owen, Ewan Rosser

Latest News