Scotland team named for 2024 Guinness mens Six Nations finale

Scotland team named for 2024 Guinness mens Six Nations finale

Stafford McDowall is poised for a first taste of Guinness Men’s Six Nations action after being named as one of two changes to head coach Gregor Townsend’s starting team to face Ireland in Dublin, as this year’s championship reaches its conclusion.

McDowall, who made his Scotland debut in a Rugby World Cup warm-up match against Italy last year, will form a centre partnership with Huw Jones for Saturday’s clash at the Aviva Stadium, as Ben White returns to play scrum-half having not featured in last weekend’s loss to Italy in Rome.

White once more joins co-captain Finn Russell as the half-back pairing, with the remaining back division unchanged in the form of full-back Blair Kinghorn, wingers Duhan van der Merwe and Kyle Steyn.

Scotland go with the same starting pack, with co-captain Rory Darge lining up at openside flanker in a back row also containing Andy Christie at blindside and Jack Dempsey operating from the base of the scrum at No 8.

Scott Cummings and Grant Gilchrist, named as vice-captain, continue to combine in the second row, as do loosehead prop Pierre Schoeman, hooker George Turner and tighthead Zander Fagerson in the front row.

Rory Sutherland (loosehead) is primed for a first outing in this year’s championship after being named among the replacements, with Ewan Ashman (hooker), Elliot Millar-Mills (tighthead), second row Sam Skinner, and versatile back row Matt Fagerson further forward options from the bench.

Scotland’s 23-player squad is completed by scrum-half George Horne, centre Cameron Redpath and Kyle Rowe, who covers the back three positions.

Scotland team to face Ireland at the Aviva Stadium, Dublin, in the Guinness Men’s Six Nations on Saturday 16 March, kick-off 4.45pm – live on ITV/STV (caps in brackets):

15. Blair Kinghorn – Toulouse (52)
14. Kyle Steyn – Glasgow Warriors (18)
13. Huw Jones – Glasgow Warriors (47)
12. Stafford McDowall – Glasgow Warriors (1)
11. Duhan van der Merwe – Edinburgh Rugby (38)

10. Finn Russell – Co-Captain – Bath Rugby (79)
9. Ben White – Toulon (21)

1. Pierre Schoeman – Edinburgh Rugby (30)
2. George Turner – Glasgow Warriors (44)
3. Zander Fagerson – Glasgow Warriors (66)
4. Grant Gilchrist – Vice-Captain – Edinburgh Rugby (71)
5. Scott Cummings – Glasgow Warriors (37)
6. Andy Christie – Saracens (7)
7. Rory Darge – Co-Captain – Glasgow Warriors (18)
8. Jack Dempsey – Glasgow Warriors (19)


16. Ewan Ashman – Edinburgh Rugby (16)
17. Rory Sutherland – Oyonnax (29)
18. Elliot Millar-Mills – Northampton Saints (3)
19. Sam Skinner – Edinburgh Rugby (34)
20. Matt Fagerson – Glasgow Warriors (43)
21. George Horne – Glasgow Warriors (29)
22. Cameron Redpath – Bath Rugby (13)
23. Kyle Rowe – Glasgow Warriors (3)

Latest News