The Eight Players Ruled Out Of Wales Tests Against South Africa

The Eight Players Ruled Out Of Wales Tests Against South Africa

Wayne Pivac has named his 33-player squad for the three-Test Series in South Africa this July.

There are several notable absentees along with the welcomed returns of Dan Lydiate and George North.

The squad also includes two uncapped players in Leicester Tigers' Tommy Reffell and Cardiff's James Ratti.

Test centurion Jonathan Davies was one of the shock omissions while the likes of Jac Morgan and James Botham can feel hard done by.

As it was during the Six Nations, Pivac will once again be without the services of vastly experienced players through injury.

Test centurion Leigh Halfpenny is still sidelined and will miss the tour. The fullback suffered the injury against Canada last summer and hasn't featured since.

Johnny McNicholl has featured at fullback and on the wing for Pivac's Wales and also misses the test series after he too injured his knee and is sidelined for 'months'.

Justin Tipuric picked up an injury in the first British and Irish Lions game against Japan last year and is yet to make his return.

The back row depth will be further tested with Ross Moriarty picking up an injury in the United Rugby Championship with the Dragons and youngster Christ Tshiunza also sidelined since the Six Nations.

Back-rower Aaron Wainwright fractured his heel against the Scarlets recently. Hooker Ken Owens hasn't featured for Wales since the 2021 Six Nations and went on the Lions tour to South Africa but a back injury has sidelined him since. 

The Welsh midfield will also miss Uilisi Halaholo.


Forwards (19)
Rhys Carre (Cardiff Rugby – 16 caps)
Wyn Jones (Scarlets – 43 caps)
Gareth Thomas (Ospreys – 10 caps)
Ryan Elias (Scarlets – 27 caps)
Dewi Lake (Ospreys – 5 caps)
Sam Parry (Ospreys – 5 caps)
Leon Brown (Dragons – 22 caps)
Tomas Francis (Ospreys – 64 caps)
Dillon Lewis (Cardiff Rugby – 38 caps)
Adam Beard (Ospreys – 34 caps)
Ben Carter (Dragons – 6 caps)
Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys – 150 caps)
Will Rowlands (Dragons – 18 caps)
Taine Basham (Dragons – 10 caps)
Taulupe Faletau (Bath Rugby – 89 caps)
Dan Lydiate (Ospreys – 65 caps)
Josh Navidi (Cardiff Rugby – 30 caps)
James Ratti (Cardiff Rugby – uncapped)
Tommy Reffell (Leicester Tigers – uncapped)

Backs (14)
Gareth Davies (Scarlets – 67 caps)
Kieran Hardy (Scarlets – 11 caps)
Tomos Williams (Cardiff Rugby – 33 caps)
Gareth Anscombe (Ospreys – 31 caps)
Dan Biggar (Northampton Saints – 100 caps) Captain
Rhys Patchell (Scarlets – 21 caps)
George North (Ospreys – 102 caps)
Nick Tompkins (Saracens – 20 caps)
Owen Watkin (Ospreys – 31 caps)
Johnny Williams (Scarlets – 5 caps
Josh Adams (Cardiff Rugby – 39 caps)
Alex Cuthbert (Ospreys – 51 caps)
Louis Rees-Zammit (Gloucester Rugby – 16 caps)
Liam Williams (Scarlets – 78 caps)


Sat 02/07/22
South Africa v Wales – 1st Test, Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria 16.05h (Sky Sports)

Sat 09/07/22
South Africa v Wales – 2nd Test, Toyota Stadium, Bloemfontein 16.05h (Sky Sports)

Sat 16/07/22
South Africa v Wales – 3rd Test, DHL Stadium, Cape Town 16.05h (Sky Sports)

Latest News